It’s A New Year

When you fully comprehend that there is more to life than just here and now…many activities, goals, and even problems that seemed so important will appear trivial, petty, and unworthy of your attention. 

Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life

This is one of my favorite sentences in Rick Warren’s The Purpose Driven Life. You’re probably thinking that I’m going to share something super profound based on Pastor Warren’s words. Well…I’m not. I just like the sentence and figured I’d share it.

Just thinking2So, what I’ve really been thinking about is my day-to-day schedule. I’m guilty of always trying to fill every minute of the day, sometimes sacrificing sleep or peace of mind all in the name of scratching an item off of my to-do-list. But every now and then (like today), I take a step back and reevaluate  how I spend my time, deciding whether or not there are things on my list that really shouldn’t be on it. I’m convinced that everything that has my attention, might not be as important as I make it out to be.

Since it’s a new year, I’ve decided to get serious and make a change regarding one aspect of my life. While others have these wonderfully elaborate New Year resolutions, mine is pretty simple: be more mindful of the items I place on my to-do-list. Easy right? Maybe. At least that’s what I’m hoping. I’ll keep you posted.

Okay, now what about you? Do you have a new year resolution or something you’re planning to do or change this year?

About sharonccooper

Sharon C. Cooper, wife, entrepreneur, Virtual Assistant, freelance writer, playwright and author -and not necessarily in that order. Sharon hasn’t always been tied to a desk, a computer and a chair. After high school, she spent 10 years as a Sheet Metal Worker. And while enjoying that unique line of work, she attended college in the evening and obtained her B.A. from Concordia University in Business Management with an emphasis in Communication. Once she received her degree, she ran the family business for 10 years. But after getting tired of the long, cold winters (Milwaukee) she passed the family business baton to one of her brothers. She and her husband then relocated to San Diego…which is where her writing career officially started. Read more - http://www.sharoncooper.net/Aboutauthor.html

Posted on January 9, 2014, in Just Thinking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Happy New Year, Sharon! No resolutions but last year I became more mindful of how I spend my time. It seems we always have so much to do that we rush to move on to the next thing to fit it all in. Problem with that is there is never an end to what we need to do. I figured out, that we aren’t designed to rush through but to enjoy. I take more time on each task and if I am not finding enjoyment out of it (and it’s not necessary for survival- physically, emotionally, financially) then it’s something I should and could let go. Life and the blessings of getting up daily and even having a task to do really should be savored. Great post!

    • Happy New Year, Aja! I’d have to agree with you regarding rushing around trying to squeeze everything in – and you’re right – there doesn’t seem to be an end! It seems like I’m on the late show in better managing my tasks. You definitely sound like you have it figured out! I’ll soon be able to say the same thing! :) Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Good morning Sharon. As it relates to time, my resolution is to be before time or right on time at the latest for planned events. There’s no reason to be late if I am prepared in advanced. So there’s a lot of things that I am working on in advance to ensure that I am on ann before time! I am determined not to let tardiness and the frustration that comes with it consume me this year!

    • Hi Tammy! I LOVE your resolution and I hope you accomplish this goal! It’s great when we can recognize areas in our lives that need improvement. I’m glad I’m not alone. :) Thanks for stopping by and good luck!

  3. Sharon, you know my philosophy. I always take time off when I need it. That helps me to manage the craziness that our lives can become.

    For the new year, I’m working on being more organized. Time management is my biggest downfall, and my goal this year is to do a better job at managing my time so I can accomplish more and have more time doing the fun things.

    • Hey Delaney! I’m so jealous of your ability to take time off when needed! I practically have to fall on my face before I allow myself permission to sit down somewhere and take a break! :)

      Great goal for the new year! I know my time management can stand some serious…tweaking too! All the best to you with this goal and Happy New Year!

  4. J. M. Cunningham

    Well Sharon, Since you asked, I will no longer be in bondage with food, I am working on eating healthy, making better choices and one of the things on my list from last year is to become debt free, working on it!

    • Hey J.M! Your goals are ones that many of us have on our lists! Though I try to eat healthy and work out on a regular basis – I know there is always room for improvement! Oh and don’t get me started on being debt free! It’s number 2 on my goals list (better management of my time and tasks are number 1). Thanks for stopping by and all the best to you in this new year!

  5. stephaniebartley1

    Hi Ms. Sharon,

    I hope your holidays were great and Happy New years. I think that is a good New Years resolution. Me, I have decided to take time to take care of me. Usually I worry about the kids, the grandkids, and other family members of my family. At the end of last year, I was sick myslef. I foundly realized that, one, I had to put my faith in God, and two, I had to take care of me and let other things go. Now, I am healing and doing better. I hope and pray that you have a prosperous New Year.

    • Happy New Year, Stephanie! Sorry to hear that you’ve been sick, but so glad that you’re feeling better! I love that you recognize that having faith in God is the way to go AND that you have to start taking better care of “you”. I think it’s easy for us to forget that if we’re not taking care of ourselves, we’re not going to be any good to anyone else. So all the best to you this year and continue to put God first – then you can’t go wrong! Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Evaluating what goes on your to-do list sounds like a great goal. My goal this year is to keep objectives and benchmarks measurable and in my control. (So you can guess what happened last year. Ha!)

    • Hey Trish! Soooo, I take it that your objectives and benchmarks weren’t as measureable last year. Well I think it’s wonderful that you recognize that and have set a goal to make sure that you don’t have a repeat of last year. :) Good luck! I truly believe that this year you’re going to accomplish this goal!! All the best to you and thanks for stopping by!

  7. I’m just trying to be a better person this year, Sharon, and I do like the sentence from the book.

  8. To me a huge part is if they show their compassion. It makes them extra yummy delphinareadstoomuch at yahoo

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,921 other followers

