Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

A Fictional World

I think I’m obsessed with my new characters!  They say the first step is admitting you have a problem, well I’ve just admitted it.  Now, what to do about it? 

I’ve taken living in a fictional world to a whole new level!  I imagine this is what it would have felt like, as a child, to have a make believe friend.  Instead I have two!  The fine and sexy Tyler Hollister and the beautiful, sassy woman he’s madly in love with, Dallas Marcel.  We became friends a couple of years ago when they showed up in my first romance novel (manuscript).  Since then, their lives have progressed and they’re a couple now…well almost.  They’re still trying to find their way back to each another. 

At any rate, this is the problem.  I can’t stop thinking about them!   Not to say that I’m God or anything, but I have mapped out their entire lives, yet they keep running into road blocks – which is probably why I keep thinking about them.   I know they’ll eventually find their way, with my gentle guidance, but in the meantime, I need to figure out how to put some mental distance between the three of us.  I daydream about them when I’m standing in the checkout line at the grocery store and they dominate my dreams at night, even when I know I have to get up at 4am!  And when I’m on the elliptical, at the gym, they’re right there with me.  The scary part is – they’re wonderful company!  They don’t always go along with what I say initially, but they usually succumb to my way of thinking.

So all I’m sayin’ is, I don’t want my next couple of months to be all about them, even though they are currently dominating a great deal of my time. 

Now, to all of you writers, who live or have lived in a fictional world at some time or another, let me know if this has ever happened to you, and if so, what did you do?

July 29, 2010 - Posted by | Just Thinking

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

