Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Ms. Jenkins

I think I have a new favorite author!  Beverly Jenkins.  I thought she only wrote historical fiction, but it turns out she writes contemporary romantic suspense, as well as faith based, women’s fiction.

I recently finished reading her new book: A Second Helping, which was the sequel to her first, faith based, women’s fiction – Bring on the Blessings. I couldn’t put it down.  Actually I had a hard time putting both of them down.  Her books are loaded with wonderful description and easy flowing dialog.  So much so, that you feel apart of the story!

Bring on the Blessings was about a woman who had divorced her faithless tycoon husband, and was awarded millions in the settlement.  She multiplied those millions and used some of it to purchase the historic town of Henry Adams, located in Kansas.  Can you imagine purchasing a whole town? Not only that, she founded a foster care program where she personally matched five foster children from various states, up with five very different families and brought them all to live in her new hometown.  The story is a fun read, with colorful characters, my favorite being the ten year old, Amari.  His nick name was “Flash” because he was a car thief and could steel a car in the blink of an eye.  His sense of humor and his antics had me literally laughing out loud.

In A Second Helping, Jenkins continues the tale a year later, showing the growth of the small town and the closeness of the families.  And yes, Amari, is still my favorite character.  If you’re looking for a fun easy read, pick up any of Ms. Jenkins books – but I highly recommend Bring on the Blessings and A Second Helping.

Note: This is a repost

July 30, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

