Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

To Slack or Not to Slack

I never thought I’d say this, but I think I’m becoming a slacker.  I remember a time when I was up and at the gym by 4:30 am and had accomplished more before 8am than most people do all day.  But lately I’ve noticed those days are long gone, and I’m not even sure if I want to go back to them.  Sure I was able to accomplish a lot during that time. I was even awarded (lovingly I might add) the name “Over Achiever” by my husband.  Now I struggle to get up by 6 am and if I scratch off three things off my “to do” list, it’s been a successful day.  Whereas, in the past if it was on the list I felt obligated to get it done by the end of the day.

This morning I was wondering if maybe I’m just at that age where I realize, it’s just not that serious.  Growing up I often heard the phrase, “don’t put off until tomorrow, what you can do today,” and for many years, I lived by this – stressing myself out in the process.  Well I’ve decided today, that those days are gone.  Now its going to be something like – If I were to die tomorrow, am I doing what I would want to be doing?

August 3, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments

  1. I knew you’d eventually come around to my way of thinking!

    Comment by Diolinda | August 3, 2010

    • Ha, ha, ha, good one Dio! But, yep, you’re definitely an influence on me! Now whether that’s a good thing…remains to be seen :).

      Comment by sharonccooper | August 3, 2010

  2. I like to think that slackers are:
    1. people who work really, really well under pressure
    2. people who know how to enjoy life
    3. people who live in the moment
    4. people who enjoy sleep
    5. people who believe the simple things in life are what really matter

    In other words, being a slacker isn’t such a bad thing:) Yeah, Sharon!

    Comment by Jaime | August 3, 2010

  3. Hahahaha! I knew you when you got up at 4:30 and were overly productive. I am so pleased that you have come to the ‘other side’. 😀

    Comment by Traci | August 11, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

