Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Light of the World

You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

Matthew 5:14-16

When I was in my late twenties, there was a lady I had befriended who truly was a living testimony of Matthew 5:14-16. She consistently walked around with a glow about her- like all was well in her world. Even through various trials and tribulations, unless she told you that she was going through, you would’ve never known. She had such a beautiful spirit. I remember thinking, I want that. I want what she has. Turns out, it was her faith and relationship with God that made her light shine as bright as it did. Over the years I’ve tried to emulate her attitude, behavior, and strengthen my faith. I finally felt that I was on the right track when a business associate started calling me “Sunshine.” Each time she’d call me that, I’d think of that verse above.

But I’ve been thinking. Sure it’s easy to let your light shine around people you like and respect, but I wonder what those other people see when they see us. I’m talking about the ones who are always negative, or have a “Woe is me” attitude whenever you see them. I’m embarrassed to say – those are usually the ones I stay clear of. It’s already hard enough to maintain a positive attitude, but you have to work even harder to maintain it with people like that – but isn’t that what we’re suppose to do? Be a light to a dark world?

What are your thoughts about the subject?

September 6, 2010 - Posted by | Just Thinking

4 Comments

  1. Great thoughts to ponder! I came up with a good line to throw at negative people. “If the grass looks greener on the other side, you are probably not watering your lawn enough!”. Or, for the really down, ” …you probably want to cut down on the fertilizer!”. OK, so it’s not nearly as eloquent at Matthew 5:14-16 but its the best I could come up with. At the very least, it always makes people stop and think – at least long enough for me to smile and make my exit if I really feel I have to. 😉

    Comment by Diolinda | September 7, 2010

    • Dio, you are toooooo funny! Although your responses are clever…uhh, you might want to just stick with the Matt 5:14-16 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and sharing your words of wisdom!!

      Comment by Sharon | September 7, 2010

  2. You’re doing a good job, Sharon, and I know you put a smile on Jesus’ face. I told my daughter about how sweet and pleasant you always are. It’s always a blessing to be in your presence.

    What you said is so true. The real test is showing Godly character around those who try our patience.

    When you get a minute, stop by my blog and see the latest pic of my new grandson doing his Al Bundy imitation …

    Comment by Chicki Brown | September 7, 2010

    • Chicki, you are too kind! God knows I try to let my light shine…but sometimes….whoo, it ain’t easy :).

      I can’t wait to check out your new grandbaby! Who knows, maybe one day I’ll meet him in person!

      Comment by Sharon | September 7, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

