Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Nothing Good to Say…

Growing up, my mother use to tell us, “If you don’t have anything good to say, don’t say anything at all.”  And over the years I’ve tried to adhere to that, but not today.  This past weekend, I had planned to set aside some time for reading a few romance novels. I was soooo looking forward to it – that I even purchased two of them!  One was by one of my favorite romance writers – Brenda Jackson.  And as usual, she did not disappoint, but the other one – whole different story.  It was so poorly written that I am torn on whether or not to put the author’s name out there!  I was shocked!  I have read several of her romance novels over the years and they’ve been pretty good, but I hadn’t read anything lately.  And after trying to get through this one, I don’t know if I ever will again. It was so bad that I was tempted to take it back to the store and demand my money back ($6)!  Actually it is so bad, that I want someone else to read it, and tell me if it was only me or if they feel the same way and want to throw the book across the room.  BUT, I don’t want you to pay for it.  Why should we both waste our hard earn cash.  Let me know if you’re interested, and I’ll let you read mine!  I started to toss the book, but I figured, maybe I should keep it on my desk as a reminder on what type of work not to put out there!  It was like someone had taken a first time writer’s work (I’m talking first attempt, without editing), and put this author’s name on it.  …I wonder if that’s what happened? I also just noticed that it’s not even listed on her website.  Hmmm.

At any rate, normally I’d be the first person to toot an author’s horn if they’ve put out an extraordinary story. So why not call out an author who has truly disappointed – especially a bestselling author? I guess my question to you is, if you read a book that was really, really bad, would you called the author out?

What to do, what to do?

Sharon C. Cooper

September 9, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments

  1. i left a comment on the Page A Day site.

    Comment by Chicki Brown | September 9, 2010

  2. Don’t call her out until you find out what happen. As a fan I suggest trying to get in contact with the author and ask her to explain what happen?

    Is this a new book?
    Do you think she was under pressure to get it out?

    Let me know what you find out.

    Comment by Tanya | September 9, 2010

  3. Hey Chicki and Tanya, I agree with you both. I’m glad I didn’t call her out because I’m seriously wondering if they put her name on the wrong book!

    Tanya, I think you bring up a good point, I might just reach out to her and see what type of response I get.

    Thanks Ladies!

    Comment by sharonccooper | September 10, 2010

  4. Totally understand where you’re coming from. I have favorite authors that I love some of their books, but others I just can’t get into because the story just doesn’t get me. I’ve never heard of an author putting out bad work like that though. Maybe someone got a hold of an unedited copy and published it? This day and age if someone can steal your SS# and us your credit, why not your book? I would love to know who that author is though.

    Comment by M.J. Kane | September 11, 2010

    • Hey M.J,
      Thanks for stopping by. You might be right…well actually I hope you’re right about maybe someone getting an unedited copy and publishing it. I’ve decided to definitely reach out to her to see what happened.

      BTW, since you read romance, I’ll be in touch w/ the details – would hate for you to waste your money unless there’s a new /different version available. I’ll be in touch.

      Comment by Sharon | September 13, 2010

  5. I’m thinking the Author had to be under serious pressure to produce since the previous work was much better.

    I’m glad you decided not to call the Author out before getting more information.

    Comment by Carmen Ray | September 19, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

