Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Peace…yeah right

This morning I was thinking…

Has there ever been a time in your life that you’ve had to ask yourself whether or not you should choose peace or money?  I often wonder if it’s possible to have both…at the same time.  Financial freedom or joy?  I could go on and on.  But in that same thought another question comes to mind.  Wouldn’t the lack of financial freedom or the inability to meet your financial goals or responsibilities steal your peace and suffocate your joy?  Still thinking…

Another thought.  For those of us who believe in Jesus Christ, our strength, our provider, our calm through the storm – should these questions even be something we waste our thoughts on?

Just wondering…

September 21, 2010 - Posted by | Just Thinking

6 Comments

  1. How interesting it is to wake up to your comments especially since I tossed and turned all night debating. Should I continue on my path of independence as a business owner or should I settle for a 9 to 5 for that false since of security that regular employment provides for us? (Its only secure until the downsizing or relocating takes place)

    I decided at 48 I just don’t have the time or emotional capacity to allow some company to drain my intellectual capital for a salary that keeps just barley able to pay my bills anyway.

    I thank God for those that are disciplined enough to support the work and vision of worthy companies/agencies but for me I’m born to be independent and to serve others, my way! I believe God will make it all work as long as I keep him first.

    I can’t explain the satisfaction and peace felt when I’m meeting the needs of my clients/customers. I was recently blessed to provide an experience for a client that compensated me for 3-days of work more than I could have earned working for a previous employer in a month.

    Thanks so much for allowing me to express my thoughts and to remind me that God is my source.

    Comment by Carmen Ray | September 21, 2010

    • Carmen, I love the way you articulate your words…still! All I can say is AMEN, AMEN!

      I often think about the number of us who have worked together on numerous projects, having the same desire – to be our own boss…for good! And, like you, I love the peace and satisfaction of meeting the needs of my clients. The feedback I receive back always leaves me feeling appreciated and valued – something you don’t always get in a work place.

      Though I’ve been going back and forth on which route I want to take…for good, you’ve brought up some wonderful points…giving me yet more to think about, but feeling better about the journey!

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your wisdom.

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 21, 2010

  2. I am the poster girl for making the choice between money or joy. As you know, I got laid off from my job in 2002, right after I started writing my first manuscript. I collected unemployment while I searched for a new job. Nothing worked out, and I begged my husband to agree that I could stay home and try this writing thing.

    Needless to say, since I no longer had a salary, I gave up everything that wasn’t essential — cell phone, car, clothes shopping, etc. That’s how badly I wanted to concentrate on writing. This was the first time in my life that I was faced with the prospect of not having my own money, but I discovered that I was happier than I’d ever been!

    I do editing for other writers every now and then, and I tithe on every single dollar that comes through my hands. Of course, I constantly pray and ask the Lord to provide and year after year He does. I

    Working a 9-to-5 job had turned me into a grouchy, fatigued, resentful wife and mother. I hated every minute of it except for cashing my paycheck. Now, even though I live in t-shirts and bedroom slippers and drive an ancient Jeep, but I’m so much easier to get along with. I wouldn’t change my life for anything.

    My first novel, Have You Seen Her? debuted in July on Amazon Kindle, and I’m finally making a little money.

    Comment by Chicki Brown | September 22, 2010

    • Lol, Chicki! I feel you! Spending my day in a t-shirt and bedroom slippers is sounding pretty good right about now. 🙂 I guess it’s all about what you’re willing to sacrifice for the freedom of being your own boss and doing what you want to do.

      My hat goes off to you! You’re doing what you enjoy, despite the not so consistent financial return -and knowing that God will provide. Good for you! I admire your decision to maintain your peace and joy by doing what you enjoy doing.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by Sharon | October 9, 2010

  3. Hi, Sharon –

    These same thoughts were the ones that brought my husband & I back home. I turns out that I don’t really care about money, or owning a home, or having an intense career. I turns out that I just want to live a simple life and, in Florida, our quality of life is so much better – even though I am making less money. I find that when I focus on the really important things in life (family, personal growth, spirituality) all the little stuff sort of falls into place. I hope that you are doing well – when you want a relaxing weekend, you’re welcome to stay with me in St. Augustine:)

    Comment by Jaime | September 26, 2010

    • Lol, Jaime. I’ll be seeing you in St. Augustine real soon! And you’re right, it’s all about the important stuff (family, spirituality, etc.) Cheers to you and your husband for putting your personal well being before any of that other non-essential stuff!

      I wish you the best, and you’ll be seeing me soon!

      Comment by Sharon | October 9, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

