Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Purpose in Life

When you fully comprehend that there is more to life than just here and now…many activities, goals, and even problems that seemed so important will appear trivial, petty, and unworthy of your attention. 

Rick Warren

So often we get bogged down with things that are so insignificant, causing us to take our eyes off of what’s most important.  For each of us it’s different.  For some, our relationship with God is most important, and for others it might be our family or other relationships.  But isn’t it amazing how easily distracted we can get when life gets in the way?  The long hours at work; health issues; and even other people’s problems -we’re quick to take our eyes off of God, and our purpose (or identifying our purpose) in life.

           I have made a conscious decision to figure out what my purpose in life is.   I’ve even considered pulling out my copy of The Purpose Driven Life, to help in my focus.  I long to discover the life that God has created me to live.  Sure, every so often, a feeling comes over me that lets me know that I’m right where I’m supposed to be, but then there are those other times when I’m thinking, “What the heck am I doing?” Do you ever have those moments?

            So today I’m thinking, I’m not waiting until the New Year to set a resolution, but today I will start looking at my life differently.  I will slow things down some, so that I can be receptive and hear from God what my purpose in life really is, and start living the life I was meant to live.

October 19, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments

  1. Stay on the course:). It doesnt matter what you have done since the last time you were on the course and how long you fell off. What matters is that you’re back trying to find your purpose again. All the best with it. Also trying to find mine and you know what the enemy tries to derail me every minute of everyday and yes sometimes he wins but it’s a momentary win. If you find yourself being derailed more that you think you should be derailed, take comfort…he is very desperate and scared…you are on the brink of a breakthrough.

    God Bless
    Nqobile

    Comment by noobie18285 | October 19, 2010

    • Thanks for stopping by, Nqobile!

      There seems to be many of us trying to find our purpose, but you’re right, if we get off track, all we have to do is get back on! I wish you the best as you hone in on your purpose!
      Sharon

      Comment by Sharon | October 19, 2010

  2. I’m not sure why, but I seem to be in the same place right now. While we don’t consciously lose sight, it seems to happen in our subconscious. The good thing is when we finally realize what is happening we can take action and move forward. Slow down and move forward, He is with you.

    Comment by Traci | October 19, 2010

    • Hey Traci! Glad to hear from you! I had to smile when you said that you seemed to be in the same place right now. Brings back memories of how that use to happen often back in the day (where we’d have similar things on our mind or going through similar things).

      And I agree with you. It’s very easy to lose sight, but once we realize it, all we have to do is get back on the course and trust that God is with us as we move through life.

      Take care and stay in touch.
      Sharon

      Comment by Sharon | October 19, 2010

  3. Sharon,

    Ask yourself what brings you the most joy. What would you do without anyone paying you a cent for it. When you determine what that thing is, pray and ask God to show you in no uncertain terms whether this is His will for your life and thank Him everyday for the answer. The next part is the hardest — waiting for the answer, but it will come.

    I know what you’re going through, and I’m praying that you’ll soon have clear direction.

    Luv you,

    Comment by Chicki Brown | October 21, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

