Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Rejected

As I work on a synopsis for one of my manuscripts, I can’t help but think about a rejection email I received a couple of weeks ago for another story. Of course when a writer submits a query, synopsis, or the first few chapters of a manuscript there is always a chance for rejection.

And yes, a rejection letter is often disappointing, but not the end of the world. Besides, how often do new writers get an opportunity to submit directly to an editor – an editor who normally only works directly with agents?

Yep, the more I think about it, I’m proud of myself (despite the outcome). I’m glad I submitted because it could’ve gone either way- I could’ve received that three book deal I’m waiting for. 🙂 I’m definitely pleased that the editor who rejected my manuscript had some nice things to say, but unfortunately she didn’t “fall head over heels in love” with the story. But no worries, I’m encouraged by her positive comments, and I’m confident in knowing – I will achieve publication success … soon!

February 7, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

10 Comments

  1. You will achieve success soon. As long as you’re receiving rejection letters, that means you’re working toward your goal. Staying persistent is key in this industry. I’ve got my fingers crossed for you.

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | February 7, 2012

    • Thank you, Delaney. You bring up a very good point – rejection letters = working toward my goal!

      Thanks so much for your continued support & encouragement!

      Comment by Sharon | February 7, 2012

  2. It takes great courage to bring a story to life and submit it for acceptance. Keep putting your work out there and I believe that acceptance letter will come! I agree with you – positive and constructive feedback from an editor is a blessing! I think it’s a very good sign!

    Comment by Abby Phillips | February 7, 2012

    • Thank you Abby! I agree with you – I felt the positive /constructive feedback was a good sign, and I’m going to keep trying! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by Sharon | February 7, 2012

  3. Hey Sharon,
    It’s good that the editor gave you feedback. She felt your story was interesting enough to comment on instead of just a formal rejection letter. Maybe if you edit your story with the suggestions she made, she’ll take another peek at it. Good luck!! I’ll be joining you in the querying process pretty soon.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    Comment by yhosby | February 7, 2012

    • Hey Yawatta,
      Thanks for stopping by! Yes, it was nice to get more than a “no thanks” or “not interested” from the editor. I did send the editor a few questions regarding her comments, but as of yet, I haven’t heard back. BUT, I’m not detered. The story “will” find a home. 🙂

      BTW, it’s nice to know others who are going through the querying process. I wish you the best in your journey to becoming published!

      Comment by Sharon | February 7, 2012

  4. I can’t wait! I’m awaiting the world-wide book tour – the bags are packed 🙂

    Comment by Tanya | February 7, 2012

    • Lol, Tanya…my biggest fan! Right after hubbie, you’re going to be the first person to know!

      Comment by Sharon | February 8, 2012

  5. Sharon, keep submitting. You’ll get that famous call soon. I’ll be there cheering for you! 🙂

    Comment by Alicia Mccalla | February 8, 2012

    • Hey Alicia, thanks for stopping by! I’ll definitely keep submitting – or step out there and publish it myself! Thanks for your continued support – I’ll keep you posted.

      Comment by Sharon | February 9, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

