Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Betrayal…Forgiveness

Forgive all who have offended you, not for them, but for yourself. ~Harriet Nelson

Have you ever been betrayed? By a parent? By a mate? By a friend? Many of us have, and if you haven’t, chances are you will at some point in your life.

In Something New, my debut novel to be released April 27, 2012, the topic of forgiveness is a reoccurring subject throughout the story. While Simone Edwards and Tim Hollister, the two main characters, fall madly and passionately in love, they struggle with pardoning those who have wronged them. Both have been emotionally scarred by someone they’ve loved, and in learning to trust one another, they first have to find a way to move beyond past hurts.

When people hear the word betrayal, they often think of a mate or spouse’s betrayal, but keep in mind there are many different types of deceptions. And if you’re on the receiving end of someone’s duplicity, it might seem impossible to move beyond it…but it is possible. You have to figure out what works for you, and know that you’ll never have peace in your heart if you can’t get pass the anger. And the only way to get pass the anger, is to forgive. For those of us who believe in the Bible, we know that “if you forgive others when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you.” Matt. 6:14

I remember years ago, in my very early teens – eleven or twelve, a girl I grew up with read my diary. Mind you, I’m a fairly private person (and back then even more so). For me (at that age), having someone to read your diary without your permission, is like the ultimate betrayal. Personal thoughts, wild ideas, and just things you might want to get off your chest, securely locked within the pages of your diary – only to be read by an unauthorized person. Granted, I have no idea of whether or not she shared any information, but the fact that she’d betrayed my trust, stuck with me for years. I’m embarrassed to say, it took me that long to forgive her. Now that I’m older (and wiser), it doesn’t take me as long to forgive, but as for my journals these days, I have a disclaimer on the inside of the covers: “Read at your own risk! There just might be something in here about you!”

Uh, back to Something New – rest assured – though the novel deals with this emotional subject – Something New is a sweet romance, and all of you romance readers out there know that in romance – you’re guaranteed a happy ending. Tim and Simone’s story is no different. As you read the novel – you’ll smile at times; and laugh out loud at others. And for you sensitive souls out there, you might even shed a tear.

So as you wait for the release date of Something New, think about this: Are you slow to forgive? Have you knowingly wronged someone, but haven’t asked for forgiveness? Or do you claim to forgive – but never forget?

Feel free to share your thoughts. And if you have a favorite quote or Bible verse you stand on to move past betrayal on your route to forgiveness – please share.

March 27, 2012 - Posted by | Something New - Novel | , , ,

22 Comments

  1. I am SO thrilled to see this book is being released, and I feel privileged to be one of the first to have read it. Now the hard work begins. LOL!

    We need to get together to talk about marketing. Let’s see if we can do it next week and someplace halfway between your house and mine.

    Congratulations!

    Comment by chicki663 | March 27, 2012

    • Chicki, you are the BEST!!! I appreciate your constant support and your willingness to always share your knowledge! You’ll definitely be hearing from me. Thanks for everything!

      Comment by sharonccooper | March 27, 2012

  2. Hey Sharon!

    I can’t wait to read your debut release. Being betrayed by a loved one whether its a family member or friend can be a hard pill to swallow but as God’s child, I try to forgive those who have trespassed against me. Congrats girl! Love the cover.

    Comment by Candace Shaw | March 27, 2012

    • You’re right, Candance, betrayal by a loved one is no joke! Thanks for your continued support and for being one the best critique partners ever!!!

      Comment by sharonccooper | March 27, 2012

  3. A great cover and an enticing story. I can’t wait. Congrats!

    Comment by Yolanda | March 27, 2012

    • Aww, thank you Yolanda!!

      Comment by sharonccooper | March 27, 2012

  4. Hi Sharon! I tend to be a forgiving person, but I have a one-time limit. I don’t have much tolerance for repeat offenders.

    Congrats on your new release. Fingers crossed.

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | March 27, 2012

    • Hey Delaney! I too have a low tolerance for certain things. I try not to let a person betray more than once – and in saying that, after the first time – I’d forgive, but I usually keep my distance there after.

      And thank you for your continued support! You have been extremely helpful along my writing journey!

      Comment by sharonccooper | March 27, 2012

  5. Hi Sharon!

    I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of your book. I LOVE the book cover, by the way! In terms of repeat offenders, my grandmother always said, “First time, shame on them. Second time, shame on you!” She was a very loving person but did not suffer fools!

    Comment by Diolinda | March 27, 2012

    • DIO!!!!! Always great hearing from you! Thank you so much for your support. Oh, and I can’t wait until you get your hands on a copy of my book!!! Lol.

      I’ve often heard that saying your grandmother used – but would love to know what she did to fools. 🙂 If she was anything like you, I’m sure you have some stories to tell!

      Comment by sharonccooper | March 27, 2012

  6. Hey Sharon,
    I can’t wait to read the novel in its edited form. The cover is PERFECT! I’ll write a review for the book and post it on my FB and other social media to help spread the word.

    As far only forgiving once: Thank God the people who love me understand that I am a wildly flawed human being. I don’t read people’s diaries, but some things my older daughter, for example, has considered betrayals, I had no idea I had committed until she got upset about them. Being utterly human has its perks, though. I’m pretty good at letting things go. 🙂

    Comment by twtrifles | March 27, 2012

    • Hey Trish! You’ve been on this writing journey with me from almost the beginning, and have seen the good, the bad, and the … uh, well you get the point. Thanks for your continued support and I can’t wait until you read the final version of – Something New! And thanks so much for your willingness to give me a review and spread the word about the novel! Greatly appreciate that type of support!

      I think you bring up a good point about flawed human beings. I bet we all have done things to others that we had no clue moved them the wrong way. Lucky you – your daughter communicated with you about your unintentional betrayal. I’m sure better communication between people would move people to forgive easier.

      Comment by sharonccooper | March 27, 2012

  7. I’m so excited about your book. I miss you and I think of you often. Even when I don’t call. Forgiveness isn’t easy, especially when you’ve been really hurt. I’ve been trying to find a balance between forgiving someone and also not wanting them in my life. I can forgive them but I don’t have to tolerate them either. This isn’t easy but I’m working on it. Congrats on the book! I’m thinking that you might have to reward yourself with a mini-vacation to St. Augustine:)

    Comment by Jaime | March 27, 2012

    • Hey Jaime!
      I miss you too! And it’s been said that whenever you’re thinking about someone, they’re probably thinking about you!

      I’ll be the first to admit that forgiving is extremely hard, and I like you, have a hard time balancing forgiving and then allowing that person to remain in my life – especially actively. I know that some will say then – is that really forgiving? Personally, and this is just my opinion, I think you can forgive someone without wanting them to remain in your life.

      I can’t wait until you read the book – I think you’re going to enjoy it. 🙂 And I LOVE your idea about rewarding myself with a mini-vacation to St. Augustine! I think that’s a brilliant idea! Just make sure you’re available to hang out when I get there!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by sharonccooper | March 28, 2012

  8. Hi Sharon, Now this sounds like a real page turner! Can’t wait to read it…… my thoughts on forgiveness is after you have wronged someone and you forgive yourself for what you did and you ask the other person for forgiveness and they don’t. Do you keep asking or have you done what you are suppose to do?

    Comment by Rhonda | March 27, 2012

    • Hey Rhonda!
      Thanks for stopping by! I too can’t wait until you read the story! You’re going to enjoy it (or at least I hope). 🙂

      I think you bring up an excellent question! As humans, I think it’s extremely hard to forgive people who have wronged us (and I’m speaking from personal experience). BUT, as a person who is guaranteed to say or do something that someone doesn’t like, if I ask for forgiveness (sincerely) and the person continues to hold a grudge or is angry with me – I move on. As far as I’m concerned, I’ve done all I can do. Just as we can’t make people like us, we also can’t make people forgive us (or let us back into their life). I TRULY admire individuals who can allow someone back into their life who have betrayed them or treated them wrong. In some instances, I don’t know if I’m enough of a grown-up to do that (sadly to say). In my opinion, though, if you’ve asked for forgiveness and have forgiven yourself…that might be all you can do.

      Again, great question! It definitely gives me something to think about in my own life!

      Comment by sharonccooper | March 28, 2012

  9. Oh by the way love the cover! Is that your from your personal collection? Lol! j/k

    Comment by Rhonda | March 27, 2012

    • Lol! Glad you like the cover. As for if its from my personal collection…hmm, I don’t know if the world is ready for me to use one from my personal collection. Lol!

      Comment by sharonccooper | March 28, 2012

      • Lol!

        Comment by Rhonda | March 28, 2012

  10. Great response!

    Comment by Rhonda | March 28, 2012

  11. Sharon, I love the book cover and can’t wait to read it. Love the theme!

    Comment by aliciamccalla | March 28, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

