Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

My First Writing Award (Lucky 7)!

I’m proud to announce that a fellow blogger Yawatta Hosby http://yawattahosby.wordpress.com/ – gave me the Lucky 7 award! This award allows writers to showcase a little piece of their work and pass the award along to other novelists and writers. It can be from your published novel, short story, poem, or a work in progress – your choice.

As a winner, you’re asked to do the following (on your blog):

  • Go to page 77 of your manuscript (or any part of your written work)
  • Go to line 7
  • Copy next 7 lines, sentences, or paragraphs into your post
  • Give the award to 7 more writers

Can’t wait to see what everyone shares. Note: sorry if you’ve already won, but if you haven’t I hope you accept the award! Here are the writers I wish to give the Lucky 7 Award to:

Candace Shaw at http://candaceshaw.net/

Delaney Diamond at http://delaneydiamond.com/

Alicia McCalla at http://www.aliciamccalla.com/

Jordanna East at http://journeyofjordannaeast.wordpress.com/

Claire Fadden at http://claireflaire.wordpress.com/

Chicki Brown at http://sisterscribbler.blogspot.com/

Jamila Gomez at http://www.jamilagomez.com/

NOTE: I really want to give the award to another blogger as well …but it puts me at eight awards. So I’m sitting here thinking…”do I dare?” And my answer is YES! I feel like breaking a few rules today! Congratulations M.J. you are one of the recipients of the Lucky 7 award!

M.J. Kane at http://thiswriterslife-mjkane.blogspot.com/

Since the release date of Something New is quickly approaching, I figured I’d follow the instructions above (as close as I can) and share a brief excerpt of the story. NOTE: Unfortunately, this means my excerpt starts at the end of a scene, but here goes:

Tim shook his head in amusement. No way would he take sex advice from his brother, the self-proclaimed bachelor for life, who walked around as if he were God’s gift to women. Not only was his brother a successful businessman, but he was known for dating some of the most beautiful women in the city.

“Thanks for the advice, but I got this.”

****

“Tim, that was the best movie I’ve seen in a long time,” Simone said as they settled into the car.

“I agree, lots of action, just the way I like. I could watch all of Denzel’s movies over and over and enjoy them like it were my first time watching.”

“Yeah, me too.”

Traffic finally moved, and Tim steered the car onto Mayfair Road and toward Simone’s house. This friendship thing was too hard. Never had he ever wanted a woman as much as he wanted the one seated next to him. The kiss the other night still shook him like an unexpected earthquake. The attraction between them was strong. Throughout the movie, he’d sensed things changing between them, and though he liked it, he wasn’t sure how to proceed. When she’d snuggled close to him during one of the action scenes, he automatically put his arm around her, and it felt right. They definitely needed to talk.

He stopped at a red light and drummed his hands against the steering wheel in rhythm with the song on the radio.

“I’m not ready to go home yet,” Simone blurted out. Despite the grip of her seat belt, she turned in her seat to face him. “It’s been such a nice evening, and I don’t want it to end. I hope you don’t think I’m being too forward, but I had to get that off of my chest.”

With a raised eyebrow, Tim glanced at her. “Is there anything else you’d like to get off of your chest?”

She threw back her head and burst out laughing. She shook her head, still laughing, and said, “Nah, I think that’s it.”

Congratulations to all of the winners! I’ll be visiting your blogs to see what you post! 🙂

April 23, 2012 - Posted by | Authors, Awards, Something New - Novel | , , , , ,

15 Comments

  1. Congrats on the award! That was a nice excerpt! Lot of sexual tension at that moment. Loved the “Is there anything else you want to get of your chest?” comment. ROFL! Man is it obvious where his head is at! Congrats and good luck with your release! Oh yeah, and there’s something about a man that is sooooo sexy when he says, “I’ve got this.”, it shows such confidence…too bad he was talking to his brother at the time, but it was still sexy none the less.

    Comment by MJ Kane | April 23, 2012

    • Thank you, MJ! I’m glad you enjoyed the short excerpt. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story as well. 🙂 BTW, you’ll be hearing from me soon!

      Comment by sharonccooper | April 23, 2012

  2. Congratulations Sharon!! I’m so looking forward to “Something New.”

    Comment by carmenraysofhope | April 23, 2012

    • Hey Carmen!! Thank you so much! I’lm looking forward to you reading “Something New.” I think you’ll enjoy it!

      Comment by sharonccooper | April 23, 2012

  3. Congratulations, Sharon! Thank you for picking me, but I’ve won it before, so I won’t participate this time. I loved your piece, though. And that longer excerpt is nice. I can feel the chemistry between them.

    The release date is almost here. Woohoo!!

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | April 23, 2012

    • Thank you, Delaney!! Your blog and books are awesome, so I’m glad to know that you’ve already won the Lucky 7 award! Thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by sharonccooper | April 23, 2012

  4. Wow, Sharon, thanks so much for the nomination. I promise to live up to the rules! * Pageant wave and smile*

    Comment by MJ Kane | April 23, 2012

    • My pleasure MJ! I’m lovin’ the pageant wave and smile. Lol! I can’t wait to read what you come up with!

      Comment by sharonccooper | April 23, 2012

  5. My first award as an author. This is really cute! And I will participate!

    Comment by artizticxpressionz | April 23, 2012

    • Hey Jamilla! I’m glad you’re going to particiapate! I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

      Comment by sharonccooper | April 23, 2012

  6. Thank you Sharon. That’s cool. I’ll do it after I get my final edits back. Now to find 7 authors. You’ve taken the ones I would have chosen! LOL

    Comment by Candace Shaw | April 24, 2012

    • Lol! Oh please, as well connected as you are, I’m sure you’re not going to have any problems finding 7 authors!

      Congratulations, and I’m looking forward to seeing your post in the near future!

      Comment by sharonccooper | April 24, 2012

  7. I’m so sorry I’m just now seeing this! Good news is I had stopped by to nominate YOU for the versatile blogger award and was here to get your shortlink! Ha! Also, Yawatta tagged me in the Lucky 7 too, so there would have been nothing I could do. But I’m flattered you thought of me and I’m glad I could return the favor!

    Comment by journeyofjordannaeast | May 7, 2012

    • Lol! My pleasure – and thanks for thinking of me!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 8, 2012

  8. I nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award! Eek!
    http://journeyofjordannaeast.wordpress.com/2012/05/07/jerks-irks-vi-awards-yay-twitter-boo/

    Comment by journeyofjordannaeast | May 8, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

