Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Guilty Pleasures

Dark chocolate, romance novels, and weekly date nights with my hubby (although without the guilt) are the first guilty pleasures that come to mind. Oh, and did I mention chocolate? According to Wikipedia, a guilty pleasure is something one enjoys and considers pleasurable despite feeling guilt. And as far as I’m concern, they are also the things that make life all the more enjoyable.

How boring would life be if you couldn’t go to a shoe store and try on every shoe that the store had in your size? Or for those who enjoy sneaking off and having sex in unusual places (I’m sure that’s someone’s guilty pleasure), how monotonous would it be if they had to limit this activity to the bedroom? Oh, and what about those closet junk food eaters? You can’t tell me that life would be worth living if they couldn’t curl up in the corner of the sofa with a pack of chocolate chip cookies!

I don’t know about you, but I can’t imagine not indulging in some of my guilty pleasures on a regular bases! I recently allowed myself a four-day staycation and filled up on one of my all-time guilty pleasures – romance novels. I’m telling you, I probably read more books in those few days than most people read in a month! I am such a sucker for happy endings – hence my addiction to romance novels!

But how much is too much? Is there such a thing as over doing it with your guilty pleasure? And what are some of your guilty pleasures?

May 3, 2012 - Posted by | Authors, Books, Reading | , ,

18 Comments

  1. I try to eat as healthy as possible but I do have a guilty pleasure for pizza. I don’t eat it often, maybe every few months but when I do, I literally eat more than half of it in one sitting and then feel guilty and do the treadmill for an hour.

    Comment by Candace Shaw | May 3, 2012

    • Hey Candace! Well at least you feel guilty enough to hop on the treadmill. I don’t know if I’m that disciplined!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 3, 2012

  2. One of my guilty pleasures (besides chocolate and romance novels) is reality TV. I get such a kick out of seeing how rich people live. My new fave is the Shahs of Sunset.

    Comment by chicki663 | May 3, 2012

    • Hey Chicki, I guess we have something in common (chocolate and romance novels)! And you’re better than me. I just can’t get into reality TV! 🙂

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 3, 2012

  3. For me it’s a bucket of popcorn at the movies — covered with the fake butter stuff. Indulging in a guilty pleasure or two is good for the mind, body & soul. No need to go to confession afterwards!

    Comment by claireflaire | May 3, 2012

  4. Last year I wrote a blog post about things I do I know I shouldn’t. Lol. As far as guilty pleasures, eating half a bag of Michael Season’s cheese puffs in one sitting is one of mine. Does it help that the bag says they’re “all natural”? 🙂

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | May 3, 2012

  5. My guilty pleasure is getting my hair done WEEKLY. Lord knows I can do it myself…but why should I give up someone massaging my head and pampering me after a long work week?? LOL. I think the guilty pleasures become unhealthy or “too much” when it hurts yourself or others (examples-over-spending your home budget, un-healthy weight gain, etc.).

    Comment by Crystal G | May 3, 2012

    • Hey Crystal, thanks for stopping by! I think most of us can truly appreciate your guilty pleasure! And I’d have to agree, I too think that w/ certain things – there is a such thing as “too much.”

      Comment by Sharon Cooper (@Sharon_Cooper1) | May 3, 2012

  6. One of my guilty pleasures is eating a bag of classic Lay’s potato chips and chocolate! I take a couple bites of chips and then pop a piece of chocolate in my mouth. Something about the crispy, crunchy texture joined by the silky chocolate makes a sinful, yet wonderful combination. I know….sounds strange! 🙂

    Comment by Datasha Hudson | May 3, 2012

    • Hey Datasha! Okay, so your guilty pleasure sounds a little strange, BUT, I can’t wait to try it! The combination sounds absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

      Comment by Sharon Cooper (@Sharon_Cooper1) | May 3, 2012

      • Yes…..strange indeed my friend! Thanks for posting this wonderful topic. I started thinking about this more and more and didn’t realize I have quite a few of them! More importantly, I just want to say how proud I am of you and your new novel. Bravo Sharon! You are an inspiration to us all!!!!!! 🙂

        Comment by Datasha Hudson | May 4, 2012

      • Aw, thanks so much Tasha!!

        Comment by sharonccooper | May 4, 2012

  7. Datasha…you may have a business venture…”A Chocolate-Chip” LOL

    Comment by Crystal G | May 3, 2012

    • Lol! Good one, Crystal! But the next time I’m at the grocery store, I’m going to have to check the shelves to see if something like this already exists!

      Comment by Sharon Cooper (@Sharon_Cooper1) | May 3, 2012

    • @Crystal – wow, that would be an awesome business venture! With my luck, I’m sure it’s already been done. 🙂

      Comment by Datasha Hudson | May 4, 2012

      • I don’t know, Tasha, I think Crystal might be on to something. I can’t wait to try the combination myself. I’m going to buy the ingredients this weekend, but while I’m at the grocery store, I’m going to look and see if there’s anything like that already out. 🙂

        Comment by Sharon Cooper (@Sharon_Cooper1) | May 4, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

