Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Hold On!

The other day Yolanda Adam’s song “Hold On” came on the radio. Interesting enough, I hadn’t heard it before (I’m more of a reader than a listener…of the radio that is), but I could really relate to the words: “No matter how hard it seems, never give up, always believe.”

I grew up in an entrepreneurial household, so thinking positive and setting goals were taught right along with believing in the Bible. Failing has never been an option, and that fact has served me well over the years.

So this week as I go back over my short-term goals, and do a little tweaking, I’ll have Ms. Adams’ song in the back of my mind – especially the part about “your dreams are meant for you to obtain and your labor is not in vain.”

What song, poem, comic strip, or inspirational message do you pull out when you’re re-evaluating your life or like me, tweaking your goals?

May 22, 2012 - Posted by | Encouragement, Goals | , , ,

18 Comments

  1. Nice post, Sharon. Donnie McClurkin’s “Stand” has always been one of my favorites when I’m going through something. There’s a nice live version with BeBe and CeCe Winans here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pqizFn_Yf0I

    Comment by chicki663 | May 22, 2012

    • Thanks Chicki! I too love “Stand.” I think I have different songs for different situations – because I just thought of another one that I listen to or sing a few times a week – “Thank you,” by Lisa Page Brooks.

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2012

  2. The following words keep me motivated. They’ve been attributed to Nora Roberts:

    “If you don’t go after what you want, you’ll never have it. If you don’t ask, the answer is always no. If you don’t step forward, you’re always in the same place.”

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | May 22, 2012

    • Delaney, I can definitely see why these words keep you motivated! Thanks for stopping by.

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2012

  3. “I can see clearly now” has been my go to song for as long as I can remember. It really struck a chord with me when it first came out (yeah, I”m old) and it’s the one song that can always get through to me.

    Comment by Barb | May 22, 2012

    • Lol, Barb! I must be old too, because I so remember and like this song! 🙂

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2012

  4. The inspirational words I use to motivate my children and are a sound-print for me are, “Nothing beats a failure but a try.” These words hold power and bolster me to be unafraid to approach any situation. When I am armed with this mantra, I believe my encounters with others allow their humanity to rise to the occasion. In rare cases where it does not, the God in me helps me prevail.

    Comment by gwill59445 | May 22, 2012

    • Good one, Gwen! I hadn’t heard that one before. It reminds me of the saying I often heard growing up – “If you try, you might fail, but if you don’t try, you’re guaranteed to fail.”

      And like you, I too trust that the God in me we’ll prevail in all situations! Thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2012

    • Gwen, are these your words? If so, can I quote you for a chapter I’m working on in my YA novel? Every chapter begins with a quote.

      Comment by twtrifles | May 22, 2012

      • It looks like the original quote, “Nothing beats a failure but a try,” came from Paulette Vaughn.

        Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2012

  5. Hi Sharon. Great subject. I thought I’d weigh in by sharing my mantra quote that keeps me on track: Happiness is not a state to arrive at but a manner of traveling.~ Margaret Lee Runbeck

    Comment by twtrifles | May 22, 2012

    • Hey Trish, thanks for stopping by. As a person who has been around you, I’d say you’re very good at living that quote! Even when frustrated, your happiness shines through.

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2012

  6. Hey Sharon:

    I love the motivational theme. One of my favorite sayings is

    Never get so busy making a living that you forget to make a life.

    Comment by Yolanda | May 22, 2012

    • Hey Yolanda, glad you like the them – and thanks for sharing! Love the quote!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2012

  7. Hey Sharon!

    For me, I’ve always associated songs/music with everything because of my name, so songs that keep me motivated are Survivor by Destiny’s Child and The Potter’s House. I don’t know who sings, it but my youth choir used to sing it when I was a teenager.

    Comment by Candace Shaw | May 22, 2012

    • Hey Candace! I’ve heard of Survivor, but not the Potter’s House (except for T.D Jakes place I visited a couple of years ago – Lol). I’m going to have to look up the song.

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2012

  8. Yolanda Adams has a song with R. Kelly, called “I believe I can fly” and that is one song that helps me keep my thoughts above the minor issues of life

    Comment by Pauline | May 24, 2012

    • Hey Pauline! After all these years, I didn’t realize Yolanda Adams collaborated w/ him on that song! …learn something new every day…

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 24, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

