Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Special Guest: Yawatta Hosby – Is T.M.I. – A Turn-off For You?

Today I have a fabulous blogger, Yawatta Hosby, visiting and sharing her thoughts on love scenes – how much is too much?  Please join me in welcoming her! Alright Yawatta, take it away!

Is T.M.I. (Too Much Information) A Turn-off For You?
A guest post by Ywatta Hosby

Are you a visual reader? I love when an author is great with description, causing me to get lost in their story. However, there’s some scenes that should be left to the readers’ imagination.

What scenes, you ask? The ones involving sex, lovemaking, quickies, etc.

I want to feel what the characters feel. I want to sense what’s going on around them. With sex scenes, descriptions should be based more on the emotional aspect instead of the mechanical terms. I like it when the story makes me feel like I’m experiencing the character’s journey with them instead of just reading about a character.

When the scene gets too technical, it comes across as just reading about a character, just looking from the sidelines. To me, too technical or mechanical means describing every single action, every single position, where characters’ mouths and hands are placed every step of the way. Also, when I see “so and so inserted ____ into ____” that’s T.M.I. (Too Much Information), which pulls me right out of the story.

Even if a reader doesn’t have an active sex life, they can still figure out how the process works, especially if they watch TV and movies. So, us readers, don’t need a play-by-play breakdown written for us to comprehend what’s going on.

It’s best to leave some things up for the readers’ imagination. My favorite type of lovemaking scenes are the ones that reveal the emotional side of things and let’s my mind wander, interpreting however I’d like to.

What’s your favorite type of scenes?

And, I love when the writer captures one character’s thoughts, emotions, and perceptions throughout the scene. It gets too confusing when both characters’ thoughts are used simultaneously. The whole point is to connect with the journey of the people you’re reading about; it’s difficult to do that when headhopping is present. Readers will get a sense of everything that’s going on but won’t have time to process it.

I don’t know about you, but I want to process the moment like its a favorite website embedded in my memory. I want to finish reading and go “Oh, they’re so cute together! I hope they last!” I want to get the warm fuzzies like I do every time I watch The Notebook.

Now, don’t get me wrong. Every story doesn’t require sex scenes. If you read Christian, inspirational, or cozy mysteries, then you’ve probably never came across any of these scenes. There’s some genres that forbid it, some that can go either way, and some where if not enough, readers will demand a refund.

I don’t want to read lovemaking scenes that don’t enhance the plot or fit the character’s personality. Then it just comes across as the writer adding those actions because he or she felt they had to in order to sell the novel. In today’s age, sex sells. However, there’s been amazing books that I’ve read where the sex wasn’t mentioned at all, yet it was still a hot, passionate, and steamy novel. The way the authors described make-out sessions or sexual tension was a huge turn-on, so I can only imagine how awesome a lovemaking scene from them would be (if the story required it).

For all the readers out there, is T.M.I. a turn-off for you? Do you enjoy reading sex scenes? Or do you get embarrassed, blushing and hoping no one looks over your shoulder?

Thanks for being my guest, Yawatta!

Show Yawatta some love by leaving a comment. I’d also encourage everyone to stop by and visit Yawatta’s blog (especially if you’re an aspiring writer/author)! You can also contact her at:

Blog: http://yawattahosby.wordpress.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/yawatta_hosby

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/yawatta

June 7, 2012 - Posted by | Romance, Writing | , , , ,

19 Comments

  1. Interesting viewpoint…I have no problem with the details, as long as they’re not too graphic for my personal taste. Some descriptions can be a turn off, depending on the author’s choice of words. Like you, I enjoy the emotional aspects of the sexual encounter, as well.

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | June 7, 2012

    • Hey Delaney,
      If a scene is too graphic, do you put the book down? I’d keep reading, but that’s because I hate mystery LOL. I have to know how a story ends.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      Comment by yhosby | June 7, 2012

      • Yes, I’ve actually stopped reading if a book was too graphic. That’s very rare, though. If I’m not enjoying the sex scene, chances are I’m not enjoying the book in general, and I don’t have any problem cutting my losses. I’d rather spend my time reading something I enjoy. 🙂

        Comment by Delaney Diamond | June 7, 2012

  2. Interesting perspective. Most important to me is the scene adds to the plot, is appropriate for the characters persona and touches me emotionally.

    Comment by Yolanda | June 7, 2012

    • Hey Yolanda,
      I agree that it should definitely add to the plot. Otherwise, I go “Wait? What?”, which isn’t a good thing LOL. The story should flow smoothly instead of readers having to stop out of confusion.

      I love the emotional aspect as well.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      Comment by yhosby | June 7, 2012

  3. I enjoy a good love scene – as long as it is tasteful and fit the character’s personality. And for me, the emotional aspect of a love scene is key – if the author can pull it off. I’m a witness – its not easy to do, but some of my favorite seasoned authors have nailed it! E.g. Beverly Jenkins, Brenda Jackson, Maureen Smith, Adrienne Byrd – and I could go on and on.

    Comment by sharonccooper | June 7, 2012

  4. Hey Sharon,

    Thanks for letting me guest post!

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    Comment by yhosby | June 7, 2012

  5. […] Recently, I wrote a post giving writers tips  on how to craft a lovemaking scene. I thought it would be fun to walk in readers’ shoes and analyze  sex scenes through their eyes. If anyone would like to check out my post, please visit Sharon C. Cooper’s Blog: Special Guest: Yawatta Hosby–Is T.M.I. A Turn-off For You? […]

    Pingback by Guest Spot on Jay Leno–Blog Style | yawattahosby | June 7, 2012

    • Lol, Yawatta. I just read your post – Jay Leno, huh? I’m honored to be the first to host you as a guest blogger! I’m sure I won’t be the last!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 7, 2012

  6. The sex scene I came across in the book I’m currently reading was emotional and tender…except for several references to the woman’s pubic hair. What the heck? Talk about pulling me out of the story…

    Comment by journeyofjordannaeast | June 7, 2012

    • Lol! Uh, I think the mention of a woman’s pubic hair in a love scene would definitely yank me out of a story too!!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 8, 2012

    • Hey Jordanna,
      Ew!!! Mention of that would make me cringe too. I read to get lost in the fantasy of it all; not be reminded of real life LOL.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      Comment by yhosby | June 8, 2012

  7. Hi, Sharon. I tagged you in my most recent post for some awards. I think that you might have one but feel free to accept the others:) You are being so proactive in your journey. I will always admire you for your strength. You are in my thoughts.

    Comment by Jaime | June 17, 2012

    • Aw, thank you, Jaime!!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 21, 2012

  8. I agree, Yawatta. I, too, like it when they describe more of what’s emotionally taking place between two characters. The details tend to just feel like “fan-service” to me. When a lot is is left up to the imagination, I think it is a much stronger story device. I think Juliet Marillier is especially good at writing scenes which are passionate and meaningful from a sexual standpoint, but they do not include gratuitous details. Every sexual scene I’ve ever read in any of her books definitely enhance the story and the romance!

    Comment by L.M. Sherwin | June 21, 2012

    • Hmm, I’ve never heard of Juliet Marillier – I’m going to have to check out her books. Thanks for stopping by L.M.!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 21, 2012

      • Oohhhh! She’s FABULOUS! She’s one of the contributors to Writer Unboxed and writes fantasy novels set in historical periods. She is hands-down my favorite author. Love, love, love her. You should definitely check her out. 🙂

        Comment by L.M. Sherwin | June 21, 2012

      • She’s AMAZING!

        Blessings,

        L.M.

        Comment by L.M. Sherwin | June 22, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

