Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Special Guest – Deatri King-Bey

It is with great pleasure that I introduce my special guest – multi-published and award-winning author, Deatri King-Bey! Deatri is the author of the Write Brothers series, but before she tells us about the Write Brothers series and her latest title, let’s find out a little about her. So Deatri, let’s get started:

Tell us a little about yourself. I started in the publishing industry as a developmental editor at Third World Press, Inc. a little over a decade ago. Their focus was nonfiction, so I moved onto freelance editing for several publishing houses. I’m also an avid reader and multi-published, award winning author with fifteen full length novels under my belt. I write romance and women’s fiction under my name and dangerously-sexy suspense under the name L. L. Reaper. On a personal note, I have three fantastic daughters who have given me the three greatest grandchildren ever. I also married my hero over twenty-five years ago and look forward to when we can both retire and can be the annoying older couple in the grocery store fussing over which bottled water brand to purchase.

What is your favorite book, and why is it your favorite? My favorite book changes depending on my mood. Today my favorite book is the historical romance Indigo by Beverly Jenkins. How can you not fall for a man who has a life of privilege, yet continually places himself in danger to help others?

I know, right! Deatri, you probably didn’t know this, but I absolutely LOVE Beverly Jenkins! She’s one of my favorite authors! Okay, but I digress. Let me get back to my questions.

What genre do you write in the most, and what is it about the genre that attracts you? I write romance with a good dose of reality and danger the most. Though romance is fantasy, falling in love is not. Watching characters overcome the odds to fall in love is something I can never tire of reading and writing. I also like to throw realism in there because we all have issues in our lives and we with the serious issues deserve to find true love, too. Then there’s the danger. That’s the fun part.

Here’s a topic that my readers and I discussed recently – Is there such a thing as too much sex in a romance novel? What are your thoughts? Yes there can be. Sex in a novel should flow with the plot, not be there for the sake of being Hot. If you want to sell scenes of sex, that’s doable in this day of eBooks and you’d make a lot of money at it.

Do you have critique partners or beta readers? I have the best beta readers. They have no problem giving constructive feedback. I love them.

Do you have a favorite hero/heroine you’ve written? What makes them special?  Jeanette Mason from the Black Widow and the Sandman I wrote with a partner under the alias L. L. Reaper. That title is a dangerously-sexy suspense, so I wasn’t confined by the rules of romance and women’s fiction. Jeanette was able to be free. I loved it. I enjoy writing romance because I love the challenge of creating original stories that fit in a formula, but sometimes I need the freedom to just write without so many rules.

What inspired you to write your latest release? I like to give myself challenges. Determined to write traditional romance and a series, I decided to combine those two challenges together. I truly admire people who can write traditional series romance consistently. The idea for the overall plot for the Write Brothers series came to me when I was watching my grandson play with the puppy in the yard. I could see a grandmother watching her grandson, wishing her sons were married. Next thing you know. Gloria Write was on a mission to ensure her sons had their happily ever after. One of my favorite aspects of this series is I allowed the readers to determine the order the books were written in. We had a BALL.

Okay,  Deatri, so now tell us about your latest title, Tease, the final book of your Write Brothers series. Oh by the way, I have to tell you – I am straight up feelin’ this book cover!

Lol! Okay,  allow me to tell you a little about my latest title, Tease:

After Eva caught her fiancé in bed with her cousin, she swore she’d never be played for the fool again. Now the ultimate bed-hopper—Tyler Write, has set his sights on her and she’s having difficulty resisting him.

Tyler can have any woman except the one he truly wants—Eva Simpson. Smooth lines and sweet talk won’t work with her. To have a chance at Eva’s heart, he’ll have to show her who he really is.

This eBook is available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble for $2.99 and will be available in print in a few weeks.

Also available is Sons 4 Sale, an eBox set of the entire Write Brothers series for only $7.99 at Amazon, as well as Barnes & Noble.

Sharon, I hope you and your readers enjoy reading about this family as much as I enjoyed writing about them.  I also wanted to take a second to thank you for allowing me to monopolize your blog site today. I appreciate it.

It’s my pleasure, Deatri. I’m glad you had a chance to stop by to tell us a little about yourself and what you’ve been up to. Now, where can readers find you online?

They can find me at: http://DeatriKingbey.com, http://www.facebook.com/deatri,  and Twitter @deatrikingbey or @LLReaper

Sounds good. Thanks again, Deatri.

Okay readers, show Deatri some love by not only purchasing her books, but by leaving a comment below.

July 13, 2012 - Posted by | Authors, Books, Romance, Special Guest - Interviews | , , , ,

9 Comments

  1. Hi Deatri! I’ve been hearing a lot of chatter about the Write Brothers, and there’s so much excitement about this installment. I’ve been missing out! Lol. This series is on my TBR pile. Best wishes!

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | July 13, 2012

    • Thanks Delaney!!!! It’s been a real HOOT!

      Comment by Deewrites | July 13, 2012

  2. Love the book cover and premise of the story. Will have to check out.

    Comment by Candace Shaw | July 13, 2012

    • I know right, Candace! I can’t wait to read the story!

      Comment by sharonccooper | July 13, 2012

    • Thanks Candace and Sharon!

      Comment by Deewrites | July 13, 2012

  3. Great interview, Dee! It’s good to get to know more about you after all this time.

    Comment by chicki663 | July 13, 2012

    • Thanks Chicki!

      Comment by Deewrites | July 15, 2012

  4. Hi Sharon and Deatri! Great interview. Congrats! “Tease” looks enticing 🙂

    Comment by darkparanormalromanceseries | July 20, 2012

    • Thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by sharonccooper | July 21, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

