Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Aha! Shower Power

I was just thinking…

Well, actually I was just thinking that I do my best thinking in the shower. After spending hours working on a scene for a future book, my brain stopped cooperating. I tried everything to get my creative juices flowing  – eating chocolate, playing a couple of hands of FreeCell on the computer, and I even did forty-five minutes of step aerobics  – nothing worked. So I decided to take a shower and had planned to work on something else afterwards. And as usual, during my shower the scene I’d been working on became crystal clear, and the opening for the next scene materialized!

That whole shower episode is not out of the norm (for me), it seems I do my best thinking…in the shower. It’s amazing the things I come up with! How to work less and make more; how to re-organize the master closet without spending more money at my favorite store (The Container Store), and I came up with an idea of how to drop a few pounds before my vacation. Just last week while fine-tuning ideas for my next book series (The Jenkins Family), it was a shower that jump-started my muse and helped me complete the five-book series ideas. Go figure.

…if only I could figure out how to write in the shower without my paper getting soggy, or my laptop becoming water logged…

But what about you? When do your bright ideas or solutions pop into your head?

July 31, 2012 - Posted by | Just Thinking, Writing | , , ,

6 Comments

  1. That always happens to me when I’m in the car, so I asked for a tiny hand-held voice recorder for Mother’s Day a few years ago. Just like when you’re in the shower, it’s almost impossible (and dangerous) to find a piece of paper and a pen in your glove box in the midst of traffic. All I need to do with this little gadget is push the record button and speak into it. Lifesaver!

    Comment by chicki663 | July 31, 2012

    • Hmm…I might have to get one of those, Chicki! Great idea!

      Comment by sharonccooper | July 31, 2012

  2. Love this. I’m moving my home office to the bathroom. LOL

    Comment by Yolanda | July 31, 2012

    • Lol, Yolanda! Great minds think alike, because I thought of that!

      Comment by sharonccooper | July 31, 2012

  3. My best thinking happens at night when I’m drifting off to sleep or right when I wake up.I grab my cell phone and type my ideas into the “Notes” app.

    Comment by Candace Shaw | July 31, 2012

    • Hey Candace, I often find that this happens to me also. I usually use my cell phone for notes when I’m out and about and think of something. Thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by sharonccooper | July 31, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

