Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

TBR – To Be Read

The other day I went through my e-reader specifically with the intent of better organizing my books. I already had folders created for some of my favorite authors (which include their titles), but I didn’t have a good system in place for some of the other books that I’ve read or books that are waiting to be read (and will be read).

So it got me to thinking. I wondered what you did about your TBR lists or piles -and what are some of the titles on your TBR list? How do you keep them separate from books that you’ve already read?

I’m an avid reader, but there are so many wonderful books out there that I can’t keep up. I seem to add books to my TBR list on a daily basis – but I can honestly say – I’m looking forward to reading each and every one of those books. Here are just a few of the titles on that list:

The Pick-Up Wife – W. Lynn Chantale

Deadly Deception – Alexa Grace

North Star – Angeline Bishop

A Family Affair – Mary Campisi

A Wish and a Prayer (A Blessings Novel) – Beverly Jenkins

In The Moment – Vallory Vance

Tease (Write Brothers) – Deatri King-Bey

Just One Look (Women of Substance) – Marilyn Lee

Okay, it’s your turn. What are some of the titles on your TBR list? Or what are you reading now?

August 8, 2012 - Posted by | Authors, Books | , , , , , ,

15 Comments

  1. The books currently on my TBR pile (in no particular order):

    Angel’s Wrath by SK
    The Tarnished Jewel of Jazar by Susanna Carr (I have to get in my Harlequin Presents every so often)
    Freeman by Leonard Pitts, Jr. (currently free on Amazon and B&N; it’s a historical romance about slaves, and it looks like it’ll be a good read, so get your copy!)
    You Can’t Plan Love by Synithia Williams (an advanced copy; the book will be released this month)

    There are many more, of course, but these are the ones on the top of my Favorites shelf of my Kindle Fire to read in the near future.

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | August 8, 2012

    • Hey Delaney! Thanks for sharing some of your TBR books. I don’t think I’ve read any of the Harlequin Presents…I’m going to have to check that line out. Thanks for stopping by. I’m going to head on over to Amazon to get my free copy of Freeman!

      Comment by sharonccooper | August 8, 2012

  2. Hey Sharon

    The movie Hunger Games propelled me into the world of YA fiction. After seeing the movie I read the compelling trilogy in six days. This is a complete departure from the mostly Christian Fiction written by African American authors I’m usually drawn to.

    I’m currently reading:

    Insurgent – Veronica Roth

    Article 5 – Kristen Simmons

    Blessings – Michelle Larks

    The Edge of Grace – Krista Allan

    Sitting on my nightstand TBR :

    Starter’s – Lissa Price

    The Selection – Kiera Cass

    When Rain Falls – Tyora Moody

    The Secret She Kept – Reshonda Tate Billingsley

    Succubus Blues – Richelle Mead

    And the list goes on and on and on. Girllll, there’s not enough time.

    Anxiously awaiting:

    Quinn’s Story & The Jenkins Family Series by my favorite author Sharon C. Cooper.

    Please, get to writing.

    Comment by Yolanda | August 8, 2012

    • Lol, Yolanda! I’m flattered to be your favorite author – especially considering your impressive TBR list! Woo, the pressure! As for Quinn’s story and the Jenkins Family Series – they’re coming! Since so many are anxiously awaiting Quinn’s story, I’ll have a prequel to Rendezvous with Danger coming out early this fall. The title is – Secret Rendezvous, and it will be a FREE read! As for the Jenkins Family – I had no idea that Best Woman for the Job would create such a buzz!! Therefore, I have no other choice than to share the rest of Toni and Craig’s story (smile)- along with four other Jenkins Family members. There will be five books total in that series. So stay tuned to my blog and Facebook Fan Page, 2013 is promising to be a busy year! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your TBR list!

      Comment by sharonccooper | August 8, 2012

      • I’m with Yolanda, I can’t wait to read Quinn’s story, so I’m looking forward to the prequel.

        Comment by Delaney Diamond | August 8, 2012

      • Lol, Delaney! You guys really know how to put the pressure on! Lol!

        Comment by sharonccooper | August 8, 2012

  3. Right now there are 26 titles in my TBR file on my Kindle and 12 in the Samples to be Read. This is the top 10 from my TBR. I still haven’t decided in what order they will be read …

    1. Dream Lake – Lisa Kleypas
    2. Island for Two: Hawaii – Beverly Jenkins
    3. Breaking the Rules – Suzanne Brockmann
    4. Ocean Beach, Wendy Wax
    5. More Than You Know – Rosalyn Story
    6. Sinful Temptation – Ann Christopher
    7. A Wish and a Prayer – Beverly Jenkins
    8. Shane’s Last Stand – Suzanne Brockmann
    9. Best Woman for the Job – Sharon Cooper
    10. Temptation of a Good Man – Delaney Diamond

    Comment by chicki663 | August 8, 2012

    • Wow, Chicki, your list sounds good too! I haven’t heard about the Island for Two by Beverly Jenkins, I’m going to have to look for that one! There are several on your list that I have read and a few that are on my TBR list. But personally, I think you should read Best Woman for the Job next. *wink, wink*

      Comment by sharonccooper | August 8, 2012

    • Thanks for including me in your list, Chicki.

      Comment by Delaney Diamond | August 8, 2012

  4. Hey Sharon,
    The books on my To Be Read list are(in no particular order):
    1. Your new one, of course 🙂
    2. Heartsick By Chelsea Cain
    3. Dreaming of Him By Wendy Ely
    4. A book from Delaney Diamond
    5. Missing By Chevy Stevens
    6. Miss Me When I’m Gone By Emily Arsenault
    7. There’s No Tomorrow By Jaree Francis
    8. Bayou Myth By Mary Ann Loesch

    Goodreads is my new addiction LOL.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    Comment by yhosby | August 8, 2012

    • Lol, Yawatta! I’m glad I made the list! Actually I’m hanging out over at This Writer’s Life blogspot today, so if you want to try your luck at winning a copy of Blue Roses – head on over! Here’s the link http://thiswriterslife-mjkane.blogspot.com/2012/08/GuestPostSharonCCooper.html.
      BTW, I love your TBR list! I’ve added a couple of your titles to my forever growing list. 🙂 As for Goodreads – I’m afraid if I spend anymore time on it – I’ll never get any writing done! Thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by sharonccooper | August 8, 2012

      • Cool beans! What titles sparked your interest?

        Keep smiling,
        Yawatta

        Comment by yhosby | August 9, 2012

      • The ones that caught my eye were Dreaming of Him and Miss Me When I’m Gone. I’ve added them to my TBR list. …it just keeps getting longer…

        Comment by sharonccooper | August 9, 2012

  5. Wow! I read your blog and see my name!
    Okay,getting our of favorite author stalker mode and on to the question at hand, what’s waiting on my TBR List:
    11/22/63 by Stephen King
    The Marriage Clause by Yvette Hines
    Outlaw’s Delight by Dahlia Rose
    I am fortunate that I have a one hour one-way commute to my day job everyday and I get to read, so my TBR lists are replaced every Sunday!

    Comment by valloryv | August 9, 2012

    • Hey Vallory! That’s cool that you can keep your TBR list so manageable!! I told myself I was going to stop adding to my TBR list until I get it down to two titles…but so far, that’s not happening. Lol! Thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by sharonccooper | August 10, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

