Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

The Jenkins Family Series

Lately I’ve been receiving a few emails and inquiries on whether or not there will be a full-length novel featuring Toni (TJ) Jenkins and Craig from the short story – Best Woman for the Job. So I decided to share a little information on how the Jenkins Family came to be and what’s coming next.

When I wrote the short story, Best Woman for the Job, I created it for several reasons:

1. I wanted to do a story with a female tradesmen (or tradesperson).

2. I wanted to see if I was capable of writing a short story (smile).

3. I wanted to not only introduce an African American family that has strong family values, but a family with dynamic women overseeing the family’s construction business.

Well, based on the wonderful feedback that I’ve received thus far regarding Best Woman for the Job, there will definitely be a Jenkins Family Series!

In Toni (TJ) and Craig’s story, I introduced the Jenkins Family (Toni’s family) and their family business – Jenkins & Sons Construction. I had no idea that the concept of a tradeswoman and the short story itself, would be so well received.

Readers have wondered (and asked):

  • Will there be more on Toni & Craig (will they get their own novel)?
  • What about the other cousins – will they get their own stories?
  • Will there be more about Jenkins & Sons Construction?

And the answer to each of those questions is – YES!! I think the only complaint that I’ve heard so far from readers is that the story was too short  -hence short story- but from what I understand, the story left readers wanting more…much more. I also realize that I failed to mention at the end of Best Woman for the Job, that more was coming…soon!

In my other life (many, many years ago), I was a sheet metal worker. I worked in the trades for over ten years, and though it was an exciting line of work, where I learned a lot and work with some wonderful men, there were definitely some challenges of being a woman in a male dominate field. So I’ve decided to bring out some of those challenges in the Jenkins Family Series.

Also in my other life (numerous years ago), I ran our family business (one of my brothers oversees it now). Our family is not as large as the Jenkins Family, but we grew up with strong family values, understanding the importance of loyalty not only to the family, but to the family business. And like you’ll see in the Jenkins Family Series, maintaining those values are not always easy – but the love of a strong family will get you through some tough times.

Needless to say, I’m SUPER excited about this series that will be coming in 2013. So make sure you stay tuned for: Toni & Craig’s story (a full-length novel this time); Peyton (PJ) Jenkins – she’s not only an electrician, but she’s brilliant at running the family’s construction business; Martina (MJ) Jenkins – a carpenter, and the hot head of the family (she’s a trip!); Christina (CJ) Jenkins – the painter and the sweetest person in the world; and Jada (JJ) Jenkins – the sheet metal worker in the family – who is sassy…and maybe a little misunderstood. Lol! And you’ll be introduced to a host of others in the Jenkins family.

I assure you, it will be a fun series with multi-dimensional characters and enticing story lines. So stay tuned!

August 15, 2012 - Posted by | Jenkins Family Series | , , , , , ,

10 Comments

  1. Looking forward to the series!

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | August 15, 2012

  2. Thanks Delaney!

    Comment by sharonccooper | August 15, 2012

  3. Isn’t planning a series fun! Sounds like you have it all worked out! I love the idea of women running a construction business. My DH is a General Contractor and myself and my cousin (a woman) have helped run the business as well as assisted on site. It was always funny for the two of us to go to Home Depot with a list of materials and supplies, back the pick up truck to the door, and start loading heavy materials. Men always looked at us like we were out of place and didn’t know what we were doing. LOL….this should be a very interesting series! I look forward to it!

    Comment by MJ Kane | August 15, 2012

    • Yes, MJ, planning a series is a blast! Although, I love brainstorming/outlining even my stand alone projects. I think the planning and brainstorming is my favorite part of writing.

      That’s cool that you’ve had a chance to experience the construction world! I remember those looks – especially if I walked in a store with my old jeans, hardhat and steel toe boots. Lol! I had plenty of moments like Toni’s experience when first meeting Craig in Best Woman for the Job. Thinking back, all I can do is shake my head and chuckle. Girrrl, I could tell you stories! Lol!

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Comment by sharonccooper | August 15, 2012

  4. This sounds so interesting, Sharon. I must admit that I haven’t had a chance to read the short story yet, but it’s in my TBR list on my Kindle.

    I am also planning a family series, and since I’ve never plotted out a series before, I will be calling on your expertise. 🙂

    Comment by Chicki Brown | August 15, 2012

    • Hey Chicki, I’m glad to know that Best Woman for the Job is on your TBR list! I hope you enjoy it.

      That’s cool that you’re planning a family series. I’m sure that everyone’s process is different, but you know how to reach me if you need to. I’d be glad to share my process…although it’s not much to it. Lol!

      Comment by sharonccooper | August 15, 2012

  5. I’m so glad Toni and Craig get a longer story. And I hope you write about your experience with plotting a series. Since I love to read them, I would like to know how authors write them.

    Comment by valloryv | August 15, 2012

    • Yes, Vallory, Toni & Craig will definitely get a longer story. I’m glad readers are interested in getting to know them better, and will have an opportunity to see them work through their numerous issues. 🙂

      I’m with you. I love reading series – especially family series – one of my favorites being the Madaris Family (Brenda Jackson). I think I read the first books of that series like a thousand times. Lol! I feel like I’m apart of the family! I just hope that I can do the Jenkins Family justice. 🙂

      Writing about my experience of plotting a series is a great idea. Don’t be surprised if you see it as a future blog post in the near future. 🙂

      Comment by sharonccooper | August 15, 2012

  6. I can’t wait for this series to come. I luv the characters already

    Comment by Loretta Cunningham | August 16, 2012

    • Hey Loretta! Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you’ve connected with the characters, and I look forward to introducing the rest of them! Stay tuned.

      Comment by sharonccooper | August 17, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

