Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Romancing the Hop – By Any Means Necessary

Okay you blog hoppers let’s talk romance, and then give away some prizes (including a Kindle Fire)!

Over the next four days (August 31st – Sept. 3rd), if you participate in Romancing the Hop you have an opportunity to win well over 200 prizes – including 3 grand prizes! You’ll also get to know over 200 authors, and find out about some amazing romance novels!

But first things first…

I can’t think about romance novels without thinking about the heart stopping heroes in those novels. By their behaviors, and in some cases, their words, they set out to get the woman they want by any means necessary. During the last year of his life, Malcolm X gave a speech and made popular the phrase – by any means necessary. Granted he used the phrase to encourage individuals to consider all tactics when it came to getting what they wanted, but that’s not much different than the heroes in our favorite romance novels. Our romance heroes are powerful, ruthless in some cases, sweet and conniving in others, yet, in the end they get what they want – their woman. So, instead of me listing all of my favorite romance heroes from historical romance novels to romantic suspense, I’ve picked two of my favorites.

Tyler Hollister from my novel – Blue Roses

Out of all of the stories I’ve written (and those that are in the queue to be written), Tyler Hollister is my favorite. I love, love, love him – and how he operates. He wants what he wants, and he’s not afraid to go after it. Here’s a little blurb about Blue Roses:

Where most women would welcome love from a wealthy, good-looking man, Chicago-based investment manager, Dallas Marcel, is not one of them. She will never let a man control her life again. That includes handsome entrepreneur, Tyler Hollister. Dallas is on track to making partner and she’s not letting anything or anyone get in her way. But when her life is put in danger, and a Ponzi scheme ignites a SEC investigation of her firm, she realizes the one man she’d banned from her heart, might be the only one who can save her career and her life.

Tall, dark, and handsome, Tyler Hollister can have any woman he wants, but he only wants one – Dallas. When he starts talking marriage, she breaks things off between them, claiming she doesn’t want a romantic entanglement to hinder her plight to making partner. A chance meeting, six months later, brings them face to face and Tyler soon realizes the intense sexual attraction they once shared is stronger than ever. But he swore he was done with her. Except he finds out her life is in danger, and his protective instincts take over. Can he save her life without losing his heart … again?

Read an excerpt 

To purchase:

Amazon   B&N   All Romance ebooks  Smashwords

One of my other favorite heroes in a romance novel is: Derrick Hoffman from A Hard Man to Love by Delaney Diamond. Can I just say that Derrick’s personality jumped off the page and as the story progressed, the more in love I became! This man took the phrase By Any Means Necessary to a whole different level. Here’s a blurb about A Hard Man to Love:

Hating him is easy. Loving him is hard.

Derrick Hoffman never quite got over not having a relationship with his biological father. The woman he was seeing is pregnant, and there’s no way he’s going to let her raise his child without him—even if it means coercing her into marriage.

Eva Jacob made the mistake of falling in love with Derrick, a man she knows is incapable of love. After their breakup, she discovers she’s pregnant. When she agrees to a loveless marriage, she tries to shield her heart from further pain. But she soon discovers that the heart wants what the heart wants, and her heart wants Derrick’s love.

Read an excerpt

To purchase:

Amazon    B&N    All Romance ebooks    Smashwords    Kobo

Okay, so now let’s give away some prizes!

Here’s what you can win:

An e-copy of Blue Roses AND a $10 Amazon gift card

An e-copy of A Hard Man to Love

Grand Prizes:

A Kindle Fire or Nook Tablet

 A $130 Amazon or B&N Gift Card

And/or the following Swag Pack!

Here’s how you can enter to win:

* Leave a comment on this blog (see below) w/ your email address AND “Like” my Facebook Fanpage or subscribe to my blog (see link at the top right of page).

* Visit other blogs that are participating in Romancing the Hop. Each time you comment on ANY of the blogs participating in Romancing the Hop (including this one) you are entered to win. NOTE: Each blogger is giving away prizes!!! Did you get that? That means you can enter well over 200 times for a chance to win some amazing prizes (just make sure you leave a comment on the blog sites AND your email address).

Deadline: You must enter (see instructions above) no later than 11:59 p.m est on Monday, September 3, 2012. That means you can enter to win any day from today, August 31, 2012 until Monday, September 3, 2012!

I will post the names of ALL winners on this blog site by Wednesday, September 5, 2012. Note: Winners will have been contacted via email by this time.

Good Luck – I hope you win!

Here are the next three blogs participating in Romancing the Hop.

Alexia Reed http://www.alexiareed.com/?page_id=176

Sherry Gloag  http://sherrygloagtheheartofromance.blogspot.co.uk/

Hennessee Andrews http://hennesseeandrews.blogspot.com/?zx=72e769f135c8369

Or click here for the complete list of blogs participating

August 31, 2012 - Posted by | Blog Hop | , , , , ,

96 Comments

  1. I’m in total agreement with you on how the heroes in romance novels stop at nothing to get what they want.
    Derrick in A Hard Man to Love is a perfect example. You didn’t know if you wanted him to be happy or if you hated him.

    caiidynsmommie at gmail dot com

    Comment by LaTanya Lawson | August 31, 2012

    • Lol! I agree LaTanya! Thanks for stopping by and I hope you win some of these great prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | August 31, 2012

  2. Great prizes! Wow.

    LaTanya and Sharon, Derrick is one of my most popular heroes. Readers either love him or hate him. I have a soft spot for him, even though he took “by any means necessary” to the extreme. I love a man who knows what he wants and goes out and gets it.

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | August 31, 2012

    • Me too, Delaney! I think that’s why Derrick is one of my favorites! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by sharonccooper | August 31, 2012

  3. Thanks for sharing your favorite character. I liked you on facebook as well.

    fencingromein at hotmail dot com

    Comment by Shannon | August 31, 2012

    • Hi Shannon, thanks for stopping by! Good luck on the blog hop – I hope you win many prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | August 31, 2012

  4. I love reading about people’s favorite heros. Everyone’s is so different. Love it. What a fun hop! delphinareadstoomuch at yahoo

    Comment by Delphina | August 31, 2012

    • Hi Delphina, thanks for stopping by! I too love reading about people’s favorite heroes, and have been introduced to some interesting stories/books with the blog hop! Good luck, and I hope you win some of the great prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | August 31, 2012

  5. Blue Roses looks interesting … I’m not sure if I like the ‘any means necessary’ unless they have some other really redeeming features… This has been a great hop to find new reads and follows..
    glhince@gmail.com

    Comment by gaele1 | August 31, 2012

    • Hi Gaele, thanks for stopping by! I’m happy to say that both Tyler Hollister (Blue Roses) and Derrick Hoffman (A Hard Man to Love) have MANY wonderful redeeming features. Good luck with the hop, I hope you win some great prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 1, 2012

  6. Tyler does sounds like a amazing character, definitely want to read more about him.
    Signed up to follow you via email.
    skpetal at hotmail dot com

    Comment by JeanMP | August 31, 2012

    • Hi JeanMP, though I might be a little bias (smile) – I love, love, love Tyler! And I think you will too! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, and good luck on the hop! I hope you win lots of prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 1, 2012

  7. Fabulous!! The heart does indeed have a mind of its own – so to speak.

    Follow by email.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    Comment by Mary Preston | September 1, 2012

    • Lol, Mary! Yes it does! Thanks for stopping by and best of luck on the hop! I hope you win some wonderful prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 1, 2012

  8. Shannon — I love this contest and I write humorous sweet contemporary. My heroes and heroines give their all to be with the one they love, but they aren’t necessarily the typical romance hero/heroine. But I love them anyway, especially their sense of humor!

    Comment by Nancy Goldberg Levine | September 1, 2012

    • Hi Nancy, I’ll have to check out your books! Thanks for stopping by and good luck on the hop – win lots of prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 1, 2012

      • Thanks very much!

        Comment by NutsieNan@aol.com | September 1, 2012

  9. The heart knows… And it has its own will that you can’t resist.
    Follow by email.

    Comment by Tessa | September 1, 2012

    • I agree, Tessa! Thanks for stopping by! Good luck on the hop! I hope you win some great prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 1, 2012

  10. My favorite aspect of romance novels is the journey to HEA. I love it when both hero and heroine fight their love.
    subscribed to blog

    bituin76 AT hotmail DOT com

    Comment by JanD | September 1, 2012

    • Me too, Jan! I rarely read books that I know won’t have a happy ending. 🙂 Enjoy the hop – and win lots of prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 1, 2012

  11. I love all the alpha males the romance books give us. These are men and situations that you won’t find in everyday life.

    koonie2888 at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Michelle Bledsoe | September 1, 2012

    • I’m with you, Michelle! Give me an Alpha male any day! Thanks for stopping by and good luck on the blog hop! Win, win, win!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 1, 2012

  12. Haven’t read any of your books yet but love those alpha males!
    mcv111 at hotmail dot com

    Comment by Monica | September 1, 2012

    • Hey Monica, check out my books – I think you’ll enjoy them (smile). Thanks for stopping by and enjoy the hop! I hope you win some great prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 1, 2012

  13. Blog Follower & Facebook Fan 🙂 I love me an alpha male lol
    Thanks for the awesome & amazing giveaway!
    cassandrahicks1989@yahoo.com

    Comment by Cassandra | September 1, 2012

    • Thanks for the follow(s), Cassandra! Good luck on the hop – I hope you win lots of prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 1, 2012

  14. Your heroes sound interesting. ;0) I love the covers. Thanks for the giveaway!
    Jesse
    jesse.kimmelfreeman@gmail.com

    Comment by Jesse Kimmel-Freeman | September 1, 2012

    • Thanks Jesse! Good luck on the blog hop – hope you win lots of prizes! BTW, thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  15. I like you on FB as Lisa Fisher Walker. Thanks for the chance to win!
    sqwalker2@hotmail.com

    Comment by Lisa Walker | September 1, 2012

    • Thanks for the “Like” Lisa! Have fun on the hop and I hope you win lots of prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  16. Sounds fantastic! Thank you for the giveaway. 🙂

    Diana
    bookofsecrets(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Comment by Diana Leigh | September 1, 2012

    • Thanks, Diana! And thanks for stopping by. Good luck on the hop and I hope you win lots of prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  17. I haven’t read any of your books yet, I love the cover
    I like you on FB Susan Smith

    Comment by Susan Smith | September 1, 2012

    • Thanks Susan! I hope you check out my books – I think you’ll enjoy them (though I am a little bias – smile). Thanks for stopping by and good luck on the hop – hope you win lots of prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  18. Wow, Blue Roses sounds like a great read. 🙂 I’m not sure if I have a favorite hero or anything like that, haha. Thanks for sharing yours though! Also, thank you for the giveaway. 🙂

    craigcrystal(at)ymail(dot)com

    Comment by Crystal Craig | September 1, 2012

    • Crystal, my problem is I can’t decide which of my heroes is my favorite. I love Jay and Scotty, but I also have a soft spot in my heart for the hero of my first book, Jonah. If I had to pick, it would probably be Scotty since he’s loosely based on my real-life hero who passed away in 2001.

      Comment by Nancy Goldberg Levine | September 1, 2012

    • Hi Crystal, Blue Roses is a great read! 🙂 Good luck on winning lots of prizes on the hop! And thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  19. I like determined heroes. I think it is sexy. I am following your blog. Thank you for the giveaway.
    kaylyndavis1986@yahoo.com

    Comment by kaylynd | September 1, 2012

    • Thanks for the follow, Kaylynd! Good luck on the blog hop. Hope you win a lot of prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  20. Sounds interesting!

    thanks for the contest!!
    forettarose@yahoo.com

    Comment by Foretta | September 2, 2012

    • Thanks for stopping by Foretta! Good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  21. Thanks for being part of the hop

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

    Comment by donnas1 | September 2, 2012

    • Thanks for stopping by, Donna! Good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  22. I ‘LIKED’ you!

    Romance is about building a lasting relationship 🙂 Fun hop! Great blog!

    krystalshannan@yahoo(dot)com

    Comment by Krystal Shannan (@KrystalShannan) | September 2, 2012

    • Thanks for stopping by, Krystal, and for the “Like”! Good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  23. Thanks for participating! Really like the hop so far!! I love reading, especially romance. I love the happy ending that is garenteed at the end. My favorite book is Lover Mine by JR Ward! I love John Matthew and Xhex. My favorite romantic moment was when my fiancé asked me to marry him! We meant two years ago right around when summer was ending! My friend and I went out for our last big night out before classes started again. Thanks so much! Hope everyone else is having a great long weekend!!

    prettyunicorn78@yahoo.com

    Comment by Patti C | September 2, 2012

    • Thanks for stopping by, Patti! I too love happy endings – whether in a book or in reality! Good luck during the hop. Win lots of prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  24. I love the HEA, the path to the HEA, and the strong alpha heros that I can fall in love with. I love that they will do anything to have the one that is their other half. Go to any lengths to prove themselves worthy, to show their love.

    Barbara
    bbsbooknook@aol.com

    Comment by Barbara Brant | September 2, 2012

    • Me too, Barbara! Thanks for stopping by and good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  25. Thank you for the giveaway!
    Liked on Facebook (Tw Veronika)

    verusbognar (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by Veronika | September 2, 2012

    • Thanks for the “Like”, Veronika! I hope you win big with the hop. Thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  26. These books have caught my interest. I need to check them out. Like you on FB.

    Thanks,
    Tracey D
    booklover0226 at gmail dot com

    Comment by Tracey D | September 2, 2012

    • Hey Tracey, thanks for stopping by. Definitely check out the books – I think you’ll enjoy them! Good with the rest of the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  27. Great blurbs! Liked your FB fan page.
    Thanks for participating in the hop and giving us all a chance to win, and share our stories.
    bidelia78@yahoo.com

    Comment by KittyB78 | September 2, 2012

    • Thanks for the “Like” Kitty, and thanks for stopping by! Good luck on the rest of the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  28. What a great hop! Grand prizes, old friends to visit and new ones to meet… and chances to win at each stop too. I’m in Blog heaven! :-}
    Facebook fan.

    Thanks for being part of the hop and for the chance to win.
    reneebennett35(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Comment by tanna4abak | September 2, 2012

    • Lol! Thanks for stopping by! Good luck on the hop! I hope you win alot of prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 2, 2012

  29. Thanks for the awesome hop and giveaways! This is so much fun! Thank you! My favorite thing about romance is the romance. lol I love the characters, the plots, the HEA’s, the love. I love it all!
    Facebook: shadow_kohler
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

    Comment by Shadow | September 2, 2012

    • Lol, Shadow! I know exactly what you mean. I love it all too! Thanks for stopping by and good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 3, 2012

  30. Romance Hop…loving it! But so many sites in so little time! sigh…

    No doubt, I believe in romance! Pretty Woman….my fav movie, proves that there’s an HEA for any and everyone.
    Romantic love makes the world a better place! You do what it takes to hang on to it!

    Thank you Sharon for the opportunity to visit your site again!! Take care.

    Belinda, belgre@comcast.net

    Comment by Belinda | September 2, 2012

    • Hi Belinda, thanks for stopping by! We have something in common – Pretty Woman is my favorite movie too! Good luck on the hop. I hope you win lots of prizes.

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 3, 2012

  31. Love to read romance books because I like to know that at least someone is getting an HEA, even if the characters are only fiction! Thanks for joining the hop and the awesome giveaway!
    ehaney578 at aol dot com

    Comment by Elizabeth H. | September 2, 2012

    • Hi Elizabeth! Thanks for stopping by and participating in the hop. I hope you win lots of prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 3, 2012

  32. Thanks tons for the hop! I only read romance. My fav is Lora Leigh! Going to parade Monday with brothers and sisters! Should be FUN!
    swkimbell@yahoo.com

    Comment by Kim D | September 2, 2012

    • Thanks for stopping by Kim and sharing your favorite author. Thanks for participating in the hop and good luck on winning lots of prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 3, 2012

  33. A Hard Man to Love sounds fabulous and I love the cover. Thx for the hop.

    blinkysthebest at aol dot com

    Comment by Lona Stringer | September 2, 2012

    • Lona, if you like hot romances, you’ll like A Hard Man to Love! Thanks for stopping by and participating in the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 3, 2012

  34. I know what you mean about heroes getting what they want “by any means necessary.” I’ve had a few do just that. For me, romance is all about the trust and respect built between the characters. Since I write BDSM, these elements are very important.
    Thank you for participating in the blog hop! Liked your Facebook page.
    qwilliarain(at)gmail(dot)com

    Comment by Qwillia | September 2, 2012

    • Hi Qwillia, thanks for stopping by and participating in the hop! I can definitely see how those elements would be important when writing BDSM.

      Good luck on winning some great prizes during the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 3, 2012

  35. thanks for being on this hop. its been a great way to find new authors. I just added Blue Roses and A Hard Man to Love to my amazon wishlist. Thx.

    I like your FB page

    sam1slim1@gmail.com

    Comment by Shan M. | September 2, 2012

    • Hi Shan, thanks for stopping by and thanks for adding the two featured stories to your wishlist! I think you’re going to enjoy them both! Good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 3, 2012

  36. It’s fun to hear about the author’s favorite characters!
    I’m a new facebook follower: Michele Lawrence

    shermie40 at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Michele L. | September 3, 2012

    • Hi Michele, thanks for the follow and for stopping by! Good luck on the hop. I hope you win lots of prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 3, 2012

  37. I love hops where I find new to me authors. Thanks for sharing your favorite character. My favorite is Jamie from The Outlander.
    mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

    Comment by Melissa Bourn (@MelCamino5) | September 3, 2012

    • Hi Melissa! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your favorite character! Good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 3, 2012

  38. touch me,let me C U & let me feel U ..is how I want my hero 2 B..!
    thanQ 4 giving me a chance 2 B touch by ur Gift Ms.Cooper
    redz041@yahoo.com

    Comment by rubyswan | September 3, 2012

    • Thanks for stopping by Ruby! Good luck on the hop – hope you win!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 3, 2012

  39. Good post. Vthere are some really good heroes out there. I love those from Susan Elizabeth Phillips series. Thanks for being part of the hop.
    edor628@verizon.net

    Comment by Eileen | September 3, 2012

    • Hi Eileen, thanks for stopping by and sharing your favorite heroes. Good luck on the blog hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 3, 2012

  40. Thank you for being part of the blog hop. 🙂

    yazmin.z.rangel(at)gmail(dot)com

    Comment by Yazmin Rangel | September 3, 2012

    • Thanks for stopping by Yazmin! Good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 3, 2012

  41. Thanks for participating.

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Comment by bn100 | September 3, 2012

    • Thanks for stopping by BN! Good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 3, 2012

  42. These sound like very good books.
    email subscriber
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

    Comment by Sherry S. | September 3, 2012

    • Hi Sherry, thanks for the follow and for stopping!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 4, 2012

  43. Thanks for the great giveaway!
    red_tigergirl2(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Comment by Sarah Kalaitzidis | September 3, 2012

    • Thanks for stopping by Sarah!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 4, 2012

  44. There is some really good villians turn heros out there in books and it is hard to pick and choice which one stands out.. Lisa Keyplas is one author that is standing out in my mind at the moment

    Comment by Beckey | September 3, 2012

    • Opps
      BeckeyWhiteATgmailDOTcom

      Comment by Beckey | September 3, 2012

      • No worries, you were entered Beckey. 🙂

        Comment by sharonccooper | September 4, 2012

    • I agree Beckey! Thanks for stopping by and sharing one of the ones you like!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 4, 2012

  45. Thanks for participating in the hop!
    snhoveln(at)gmail(dot)com

    Comment by Stephanie | September 3, 2012

    • Thanks for stopping by Stephanie!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 4, 2012

  46. Thanks for being a part of the hop. I hope that you had a great labor day weekend! I liked your facebook fan page.
    jessangil at gmail dot com

    Comment by Jessica B | September 3, 2012

    • Thanks for stopping by Jessica – and for the “Like”!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 4, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

