Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

A Heart Not Easily Broken: A Story about More than Just Race

Today I have a fabulous blogger, M.J. Kane, visiting and introducing her newly released novel – A Heart Not Easily Broken.  Please join me in welcoming her! Alright M.J, take it away!

A Heart Not Easily Broken: A Story about More than Just Race

By: M.J. Kane

Career goals, family, relationships. No matter what race, we all face the same issues. It’s how we deal with them that sets us apart.

Ebony Campbell and Brian Young, of A Heart Not Easily Broken, are an interracial couple. Fear of disapproval from her family cause Ebony to question her sanity when she finds herself drawn to Brian. His persistence, confidence, and willingness to support her career goals have her falling for the man, not the color of his skin.

But will she be able to maneuver the minefield of problems that ensue?

Ebony’s independent nature leads her down a path that threatens to destroy their relationship. A decision she is forced to make rips her to the core. Friendships are tested, along with her ability to overcome a nightmare.

Love, no matter what color, can’t withstand lies and deceit.

Ebony is a smart, sexy, career-oriented black woman who wants nothing more than a summer fling with a man who challenges her mind and body. What she doesn’t expect is a blond haired, blue-eyed bass player—who won’t take “no” for an answer—to accept the challenge.

When Ebony’s attempt at a brief fling turns into more, despite negative reactions from friends and family, she finds juggling love, family, and career are nothing compared to the ultimate betrayal she endures. Now her dreams spiral into lies and secrets that threaten her future and her best friend’s trust.

Excerpt:

“I’m okay.”

Then why did it sound like a lie?

From the moment Ebony arrived, she’d been crying. I suspected something was wrong for months. But what?

Ebony never gave me the impression of being needy or clingy. She was strong and independent with a good head on her shoulders. Why the sudden change?

It still irritated me that she had refused my help before I left. Some of the women in my past would have jumped at the opportunity. I didn’t get it. Why would she think my helping her would be an inconvenience? Didn’t she know how much I loved her? How much I wanted to take care of her? I made my intentions clear.

We’d been together for nearly five months. We’d just scratched the surface of each other’s lives. A typical relationship would mean we would know more about each other than we did right now; but our relationship wasn’t typical.

While I was away, a part of me worried she would one day refuse my calls. Nothing, not even how good the sex was, required her to wait for me.

I risked everything we’d built when I accepted the job. I never asked how she felt about me leaving her behind. I assumed everything would work out, because it’s what I wanted.

The opportunity of a lifetime.

But love, true love, only happened once.

Did my decision to leave cause the change?

What I felt was real, and she seemed to feel the same way. We’d talked every day I was gone. I’d faithfully deposited money in her account every week, even when she said she didn’t need it.

I looked over at the love of my life as she slept. Ebony had no idea how beautiful she was. This was the image I took to bed with me every night while away. This is what I thought of when woman followed me around at the after parties or hung around backstage offering sex in order to get closer to the artist we played for.

Two weeks into the tour, I stopped counting how many women sneaked into my bedroom with offers I ordinarily wouldn’t refuse. Nobody could take Ebony’s place. Losing her because of some stupid one-night-stand would not be worth it.

Now we were together again.

Why the hell was I paranoid?

A Heart Not Easily Broken is available now from 5 Prince Publishing! Buy Now!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

M.J. Kane stumbled into writing. An avid reader, this stay at home mom never lost the overactive imagination of an only child. As an adult she made up stories, though never shared them, to keep herself entertained. It wasn’t until surviving a traumatic medical incident in 2006 that she found a reason to let the characters inhabiting her imagination free.  Upon the suggestion of her husband, she commandeered his laptop and allowed the characters to take life. It was that, or look over her shoulder for men caring a purple strait jacket. And the rest, as they say, is history.

No longer a television addict, if M.J. isn’t reading a book by one of her favorite authors, she’s battling with her creative muse to balance writing and being a wife and mother. She resides in the suburbs of Atlanta, Georgia with her high school sweetheart, four wonderful children, and two pit bulls. MJ can often be found hanging out at the local library where she is director of a local writer’s group, or online connecting with readers and other authors. Other activities she enjoys include: creating custom floral arrangements, assisting her children in their creative pursuits of music and art, and supporting her husband’s music production business, 3D Sounds.

You can find MJ on social networking sites, sharing writing tips, talking about music, life, and family. She’s always excited to meet new people. Connect with her via the websites below.

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

This Writer’s Life Blog

The Butterfly Memoirs Blog

Google+

Linkedin

Email

Thanks for stopping by M.J and sharing a little about your debut novel, A Heart Not Easily Broken! I love the title by the way!

Okay, all, M.J. is doing a giveaway!! Here’s how it works: Everyone who comments will be entered into the A Heart Not Easily Broken Blog Tour Drawing for a chance to win an autographed copy of the book! For contest details, visit http://thiswriterslife-mjkane.blogspot.com/p/blog-tour-roll-call.html.

Let’s show M.J. some love by leaving a comment!

September 26, 2012 - Posted by | Guest Post | , ,

9 Comments

  1. Thank you, Sharon, for letting me stop by and share!

    Comment by MJ Kane | September 26, 2012

    • My pleasure, M.J! Wishing you much success on your debut novel!

      Comment by sharonccooper | September 26, 2012

    • Thank you!

      Comment by MJ Kane | September 26, 2012

  2. Great excerpt!

    Comment by valloryv | September 26, 2012

    • Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      Comment by MJ Kane | September 26, 2012

  3. Thanks for the tid bits of your debut novel…

    Comment by LaTanya Lawson | September 26, 2012

    • Hi LaTanya! Pleasure to see you here too! And you are very welcome!

      Comment by MJ Kane | September 26, 2012

  4. I love the excerpt and the cover is excellent. I think that its cool that you lead a writing group at the library. Could you tell me a little about how that works? What do you do with your writers group?

    Best wishes with the novel!

    James Fant

    Comment by jamesfantbooks | September 26, 2012

  5. Hi, James, and thank you! The goal of the writer’s group it to have a place where writers can connect one on one and keep each other motivated. Most writers can be reclusive, at least when it comes to their work, and need to have an outlet where they can be around others who do the same thing that they do, can understand their frustrations, and offer support and advice. That’s what we do. Our group consists of new writers, self-pubbed and indie pubbed. Our goal is to pick a topic that everyone has a question about and focus on it during our monthly meetings. We also share work and critique as well. When I first started writing I was on my own with no on to ask for advice. The moment I joined a group, submitted my work, and listened to the feedback, that’s when I became a better writer.

    Comment by MJ Kane | September 26, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

