Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Six Months in Review

There is nothing like a vacation that gives you time to reflect on your life and a reminder to count your blessings. I just spent an amazing week and one day (thanks to hurricane Sandy) on a Caribbean cruise relaxing; celebrating ten years of marriage to my wonderful husband; and thinking about the past few months of my writing career. I can’t believe it’s been six months since I self-published my first novel! It’s been a wild, and at times, an exhausting ride – but I have no complaints. So let me tell you about the last six months.

April 24th

I released my debut novel: Something New, an “edgy” sweet romance.

April 25th

My first short story, Best Woman for the Job, a contemporary romance, was not only published, but was “FREE” for the first three days. There were over 500 downloads within those three days!

May 2012

Best Woman for the Job became an All Romance ebook best seller.

June 2012

In knowing that the sky is the limit and believing that I’d be publishing books for many, many more years to come, I formed a LLC publishing company. Figured it would also be a good move come tax time. NOTE: This company is only publishing books by Sharon C. Cooper.

Something New, made the Amazon’s top 100 Best Seller list in Multi-cultural Romance.

Best Woman for the Job, made Amazon’s top 100 Best Seller list in Multi-cultural Romance.

July 2012

I self-published my second novel, Blue Roses (Book 1 of the Reunited Series), a romantic suspense.

Something New made Amazon’s top 50 Best Seller list in Multi-cultural Romance and the top 100 in both Religious Romance and African American Literature.

I was contacted by a senior editor from the country’s largest traditional publisher of category romance! I’ll tell you more about this in months to come.

August 2012

Something New and Blue Roses are now in paperback!

Blue Roses made Amazon’s top 100 Best Sellers list in Multi-Cultural Romance.

I mapped out my next book series – the Jenkins Family Series. Best Woman for the Job is the prequel for this five book series. Stay tuned – more information about this series coming January 2013.

September 2012

I outlined two new titles (contemporary romances). Stay tuned – more information to come -summer 2013.

October 2012

Released my second short story, Secret Rendezvous a romantic suspense and the prequel to my next novel, Rendezvous with Danger.  Secret Rendezvous is a “FREE” read – visit my website to find out how to get your copy. www.sharoncooper.net

Something New has been on Amazon’s top 100 Best Sellers list in Multi-cultural Romance for five months!

****

As I reflect on the last six months, I’m reminded that I didn’t get here alone. I am so thankful to my mentors, critique partners, family, friends and readers. Thank you all for your continued support and encouragement! It’s been a wonderful ride and I’m looking forward to the next six months!

Stay tuned…

October 31, 2012 - Posted by | Just Thinking, Months in Review | , , , ,

25 Comments

  1. Great 6 months!!!
    When can we expect to get our hands on Rendezvous with Danger?

    Comment by LaTanya Lawson | October 31, 2012

    • Thanks LaTanya! As for Rendezvous with Danger – it’s currently scheduled for the end of January 2013 (keeping my figures crossed). 🙂

      Comment by sharonccooper | October 31, 2012

  2. Goodness girl! It takes some authors years to do all that. Congrats on your success and there’s more to come!

    Comment by Candace Shaw | October 31, 2012

    • Lol, Candace. It’s no wonder I needed a vacation and was ready to hurt someone if I hadn’t have taken it when I did! Thanks for the well wishes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | October 31, 2012

  3. You’re an inspiration Ms. Cooper! Sorry about Sandy cutting your trip short, but Iit sounds like you got to enjoy your tenth anniversary bliss with your honey for a while.

    Comment by twtrifles | October 31, 2012

    • Thank you Twtrifles! As for the vacation – because of Sandy – we received an extra day on the ship/cruise! It was too dangerous for the captain to get us back to FL on the scheduled day. Of course we weren’t complaining. 🙂 Overall, our anniversary trip was AWESOME!

      Comment by sharonccooper | October 31, 2012

  4. Awesome! Congratulations!!

    Comment by Adrienne Thompson | October 31, 2012

    • Thank you, Adrienne!

      Comment by sharonccooper | October 31, 2012

  5. True inspiration. Keep going.
    Cora Blu

    Comment by Cora Blu | October 31, 2012

    • Thanks so much, Cora! BTW, you have a cool name!

      Comment by sharonccooper | October 31, 2012

      • Thank you. Named after Grandma.

        Comment by Cora Blu | October 31, 2012

      • Cool!

        Comment by sharonccooper | October 31, 2012

  6. Congratulations on all of your success! It’s great to have a celebrity in the family 🙂 May the Lord prosper you beyond another six month. We love you and are so proud of you. When you plant the seed you also reap the harvest! Not many authors can balance success and a great marriage but you do it with a smile. Cheers to you.

    Comment by Tammy | October 31, 2012

    • *hand over heart* Awwww, thank you my sister for the encouragement, support, and very kind words!

      Comment by sharonccooper | October 31, 2012

  7. Whew! I got whiplash from reading all of that. Congratulations on all your success.

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | October 31, 2012

    • Lol, Delaney! Thanks for the well wishes.

      Comment by sharonccooper | October 31, 2012

  8. That is awesome, Sharon! Wishing you continued success in the future!

    Comment by Synithia W | October 31, 2012

    • Thanks so much, Synithia!

      Comment by sharonccooper | October 31, 2012

  9. Congratulations on your many achievements! Best of luck in the next six months and beyond!

    Comment by Nancy Goldberg Levine | October 31, 2012

  10. […] There is nothing like a vacation that gives you time to reflect on your life and a reminder to count your blessings. I recently spent an amazing week – plus one day (thanks to hurricane Sandy) on a Caribbean cruise relaxing; celebrating ten years of marriage to my fantastic husband; and thinking about the past few months of my writing career. I can’t believe it’s been six months since I self-published my first novel! It’s been a wild, and at times, an exhausting ride – but I have no complaints. Check out my six months in review – https://sharonccooper.wordpress.com/2012/10/31/six-months-in-review/#comments  […]

    Pingback by Amazon Bestselling Author Sharon C. Cooper has Superfab Cool Giveaways for RG2E Peeps!!! | The Reader's Guide to Epublishing | November 7, 2012

  11. Hi there! Congrats on a wonderful writing career and on your accomplishment of being listed on Amazon’s top 100 best seller’s list. Thanks for the free gift, Secret Rendezvous. I will be going to your website soon to see how I can get a copy.

    Comment by thehealthywarrior | November 7, 2012

    • Thanks for the well wishes and for stopping by, the healthy warrior! Enjoy the free read!

      Comment by sharonccooper | November 8, 2012

  12. Congratulations on all the success, Sharon. I know you have a successful writing career ahead of you!

    Comment by Laura Templeton | November 9, 2012

    • Thanks so much, Laura!

      Comment by sharonccooper | November 10, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

