Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Special Guest – Synithia Williams

It is with great pleasure that I introduce an author friend of mine and my special guest – Synithia Williams! Synithia is the author of You Can’t Plan Love, and Worth the Wait (her latest title). So, let’s get started.

synithia williams head shot

Tell us a little bit about yourself, Synithia.

I’ve loved reading romance novels since I was 13 years old. I hand wrote my first romances in high school, but didn’t take my writing seriously at the time. I concentrated on college, then work, then marriage, then having kids. It wasn’t until 2010 that I decided to try to turn writing from a hobby into a potential career. I consider writing my part-time job. Full-time, I work on sustainability initiatives in the Midlands of South Carolina.

What is your writing process? Do you outline, fly by the seat of your pants or a combination of both?

My writing process keeps evolving. I started by just flying by the seat of my pants, then I tried outlining my stories, but could never stick with the outline. I recently read a book on screenwriting called Save the Cat and one thing it mentioned was starting out with defining what your story is about. My current work in progress is following this idea. I’ve figured out what my story is about, and am flying by the seat of my pants writing it with a very rough outline.

Lol! Way to use all of the writing processes, Synithia!

Okay, I know you’re not supposed to show favoritism but who’s been your favorite character to write?

I liked writing my men: Malcolm and Jared. I don’t know what it says about me, but I love figuring out what makes them tick, why they fight falling in love and finally getting them in bed.

Do you have critique partners or beta readers?

I have several, but none set in stone. My critique partners have changed with each book I write due to schedule changes. I have used the same beta readers to give me feedback. I wish I had one steady critique partner though.

What is in your To Read Pile that you are dying to start or upcoming release you can’t wait for?

I’m working my way through J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood Series (thanks to author Chicki Brown putting me onto them). I put them on hold at the library and get so excited when I get the message saying the next in the series is ready.

So tell us about your latest story, Worth the Wait.

Synithia -WTW Cover

After Tasha Smith is dumped yet again because of her virginity, she decides it’s time to stop saving herself for marriage and start dating like women in the twenty-first century. She sets out to find a man rumored to be good enough in bed to relieve her of the nuisance, but discreet enough to keep her request a secret. Jared Patterson seems like the perfect candidate. Yet after one searing kiss, she wonders if she’ll escape the night unscathed.

Jared’s job as a successful fitness instructor and entrepreneur has helped him keep a string of meaningless relationships from the east to the west coast. After learning the hard way that women can’t be trusted, he has no qualms going from one sex only relationship to the next. Although Tasha is one of the few types of women he avoids—a good girl—the man in him can’t turn down her tempting offer.

What starts out as a onetime thing quickly turns into an affair neither want to stop. But when an unexpected situation drastically alters their relationship, it leaves them both asking if it was Worth the Wait.

What was your inspiration behind this book?

The idea for the book came from two separate thoughts. When I wrote my first novel, You Can’t Plan Love, I knew I wanted to give Jared his own story. He was so against settling down and I tried to think of what type of woman would make him commit. Of course opposites attract and you can’t get more opposite of promiscuous than virginal. Then I wondered what it would be like to date nowadays if you’re saving yourself for marriage. That’s a lot of pressure to put on a guy after a few dates. “Sorry, no sex unless you put a ring on it.” Voilà, the idea for my story was made.

If you were going to cast the characters of your book, what actors would get the part?

Oh man, I should know this. Hmmm, I really like Dolvett Quince who did Season 12 of the Biggest Loser, only with a different voice. Tasha would be…Cree Summer when she played Freddy in A Different World in the early seasons.

Here’s a brief excerpt from Worth the Wait

Tasha’s attention went back to the bed. It couldn’t be ignored. She walked over to it. At five feet four inches she considered herself average height, but she would need a stepstool to get on it. How many women had he slept with in that bed? Probably dozens. The thought excited her. She wanted to experience what other women had with him, and she wanted it in that bed. She ran her hands along the smooth comforter and closed her eyes, imagining herself naked, sliding on the sheets.

“Do you like my bed?”

She snatched her hands away as if she’d been burned. She turned to the closet where Jared stood, watching her. He’d put on a loose fitting pair of jeans and a black shirt he hadn’t buttoned. His feet were still bare. She definitely liked what she saw.

“It’s a nice bed. Is this where we’ll…” Although she knew what she asked she couldn’t say the words.

He walked over, placing his hands on the bed and trapping her between it and him. The heat from his body radiated toward her. Time seemed to freeze as the force of her attraction buzzed within her. If she was going to do this she couldn’t be a ninny. She hesitated, before lifting her hands and placing them on his chest. His skin was surprisingly soft over the hard muscles underneath. He flexed his pecs and she jerked. Her pinky finger accidentally flicking over his flat nipple and his breathing pick up.

He lightly ran a finger down her cheek. “My plan was to wait, but you’re making it very difficult.”

Tasha shivered as he gently traced her earlobe. “How?”

“Because right now all I want to do is take your clothes off, throw you on that bed, and get deep inside you.”

Oh, God, what am I doing? Despite her fear she said, “Then…then do it.”

Buy links:

Amazon        Crimson Romance 

Whew! Great excerpt, Synithia! I can’t wait to read the rest of the story!

Let’s show Synithia some love by not only leaving her a comment, but by also purchasing her latest novel – Worth the Wait

By the way, Synithia, how can readers connect with you? 

Through my website: www.synithiawilliams.com

Twitter: www.twitter.com/@SynithiaW

Facebook: www.facebook.com/synithiarwilliams

Lastly, anyone who leaves a comment on this post today will be entered into a drawing for a chance to win an electronic copy of Synithia’s debut novel – You Can’t Plan Love!

Synithia -YCPL Cover

Synithia, thanks so much for sharing a little bit about yourself! I wish you much success in your writing career!

January 9, 2013 - Posted by | Special Guest - Interviews | , ,

13 Comments

  1. Great interview…
    The excerpt from the book is definitely hot…
    Congratulation on the recent release and happy new year…

    caiidynsmommie(at)gmail(dot)com

    Comment by LaTanya Lawson | January 9, 2013

    • Thanks for stopping by LaTanya!

      Comment by sharonccooper | January 9, 2013

      • Thanks, Latonya! Good luck!

        Comment by Synithia W | January 9, 2013

  2. Enjoyed the interview. The excerpt has me ready to buy a copy of the book! Congrats on the new release!

    Comment by Tammy Roberson | January 9, 2013

    • Thanks for stopping by Tammy!

      Comment by sharonccooper | January 9, 2013

    • Hey, Tammy! Grab a copy and enjoy! Good luck!

      Comment by Synithia W | January 9, 2013

  3. Synithia,

    Great premise, great voice. Love the twist of the intentional virgin seeking a discreet deflowering.

    Comment by Yolanda | January 9, 2013

    • Thanks, Yolanda! I aimed to put an interesting twist on the virgin theme.

      Comment by Synithia W | January 9, 2013

  4. Another great excerpt, Synithia!

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | January 9, 2013

    • Thanks for stopping by, Delaney!

      Comment by sharonccooper | January 9, 2013

    • Thanks, Delaney!

      Comment by Synithia W | January 9, 2013

  5. Thanks everyone for your comments! Today’s random winner of a copy of You Can’t Plan Love isTammy Roberson! Leave your email with Sharon to claim your prize!

    Comment by Synithia W | January 10, 2013

  6. Hey Synithia,
    Cool beans that you start with an outline but it changes once you start your story. I thought that only happened to me. I started viewing writing as a business instead of hobby, beginning in 2011. It’s an exciting feeling! Congratulations on the release of your book and Happy Writing!

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    Comment by yhosby | January 11, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

