Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Some LiKe it in Handcuffs

It is with great pleasure that I welcome Christine Wagner, author of Some Like it in Handcuffs, to my blog! Today Christine will tell us a little about herself and share her latest release. Let’s get started:

SomeLikeitinHandcuffs_w6337[1]

Christine, tell us a little bit about yourself.

I live in Michigan with my husband, 3 kids (only 2 live at home), 2 dogs and 2 cats. We live in the country and I love it. I work a couple of days a week at a large hospital, but hope to give that up to write full time in the future. I love to cook, read, spend time with family, and write, write, write.

What is your writing process? Do you outline, fly by the seat of your pants or a combination of both?

Each book I write is a different process. I always start out with a quickie outline which goes over my basic plot points and character quirks, looks, etc. Sometimes I will outline by chapter as well. I like to have an outline to keep me on track, but a majority of the time I don’t stick to it. Another idea will pop into my head and steer me in an entirely different direction.

I know you’re not supposed to show favoritism but who’s been your favorite character to write?

That’s like asking a mother who is her favorite child. They each have characteristics and traits that I love. I really couldn’t name just one. I think that usually the characters I’m writing are my favorites because they are the ones I’m closest to at the moment. But if I put them away and work on another story, or read parts of a story I’ve already written…my opinion changes. lol

Do you have critique partners or beta readers?

I have a critique partner and have had a few beta readers in the past.

What do you do for fun?

I love to travel when time and money permits. But I’m also a huge fan of cooking. I love to try new things and mix things up and see what I end up with. Of course I enjoy reading, especially when I can enjoy it on the front porch when the weather is nice and I’m a huge fan of board games or card games if I can talk someone into playing. Lol  I’ve also started doing a girls night out once a month with a few friends where we will go out and try something new. Be it either an event or a food…we’re having a lot of fun with it.

Wow, that does sound like fun, and as for the board games, you wouldn’t have to talk me into playing. I too love them! So Christine, tell us about Some Like it in Handcuffs.

Sunny Kennedy, the only female in a family of blue blood male detectives, is determined to prove testosterone isn’t the only qualification required to solve a cold case. Handcuffed while undercover then taken to the precinct by an attractive detective, her domineering family demands she work with Detective Judson Blackwolf, or she’s off the case.

Judson Blackwolf thinks women in law enforcement should work behind the scenes. The prospect of working with his Captain’s sexy daughter doesn’t thrill him. He only agrees in hopes of solving the murder of his one time mentor’s daughter. Once the case is over, he’s moving to Montana to heal his wounds from the loss of his last partner.

But when their investigation takes a dangerous turn, Sunny and Jud soon realize their feelings for each other cannot be denied.

I’m looking forward to reading Some Like it in Handcuffs! What was your inspiration behind this book?

This might sound a little odd, but I actually came up with the title first. Those five words popped into my head and from there characters were formed, plots tweaked and my storyline was born. I’ve found since then that I love to have a title before writing begins, even if I end up changing it J

 If you were going to cast the characters of your book for the movie version of Some Like it in Handcuffs, what actors would get the part?

That’s a tough one. I didn’t use an actor or actress when I pictured my characters and described them in the book. I’m going to take the easy way out here…lol…whoever auditions for the role and gets it will be fine. As long as the hero is tall, dark, humorous and sexy and the heroine is sassy, blonde, and full of spunk.

Excerpt from Some Like it in Handcuffs:

“This isn’t how I wanted it between us.”  Judson grabbed the neckline of her sweater, dragging her body to meet his with a solid thump.  Sunny licked her lips in answer to the question in his eyes.  He lowered his head to move his mouth over hers.

Sunny closed her eyes, a small whimper escaping her lips.  She didn’t want it like this either, but that wasn’t possible.  Unable to resist her attraction she accepted it wasn’t an affair, or a long distance romance she craved, but for him to love her back.  It was all or nothing for her.  Her heart sank.  She accepted this as their goodbye kiss.

With no thought to what was happening upstairs, Sunny rose up on her toes demanding more.  Her lips pulsated against Judson’s.  When his hand trembled against her cheek in a soft caress she lost touch with reality.

“Judson.” Sunny’s weakened body drifted farther into Judson’s as his fingers glided down her arms, pulling them to her sides where their fingers intertwined.  He forced them behind her before his tongue thrust into her mouth.

Their bodies molded together, she heard her own heartbeat and his as well when he curved his fingers around her rear and squeezed.

That’s when the click of the handcuffs against her wrist connected her to the handle of the locked cupboard.

“What the hell…Judson?”  She looked up at him, her knees shook, her body still inflamed with fever.

“Like I was saying, you wait here and I’ll go upstairs to check it out.  Backup’s already been called, so you’re safe until your brothers arrive.”  Judson winked before walking toward the steps to the third level.  Once he reached them he turned toward her and smiled.  “Gotcha,” he whispered with his notorious grin.

Want to read more? Some Like it in Handcuffs is available in print and digital format at:

Wildrose Press

Barnes and Noble

Amazon 

Genre: Light-hearted romantic suspense with humor

About the author:

Christine Warner is living her dream in Michigan along with her husband, three children, one laptop and a much loved assortment of furry friends. Besides laughing and a good round of humor, she enjoys spending time with her family, cooking, reading, writing but no arithmetic. A confessed people watcher, she finds inspiration for her stories in everyday activities. She loves to read and write about strong heroes and determined, sometimes sassy, heroines. A girl gone wild, at least where social media is concerned, she enjoys meeting other avid readers and writers on Facebook, Twitter and her Website.

Christine, I know you said you love hearing from readers and other authors, how can they connect with you?

My blog/website:  http://christine-warner.com/

Twitter under ChristinesWords: https://twitter.com/#!/ChristinesWords

My Facebook page…stop by and give it a LIKE to keep up on what I have happening next: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Christine-Warner/143430882396013

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5763713.Christine_Warner

April 9, 2013 - Posted by | Blog Guest | , ,

4 Comments

  1. Thanks for having me on your awesome blog Sharon! I loved your questions and am thrilled to be here 🙂

    Comment by ChristineWarner | April 9, 2013

    • My pleasure, Christine!

      Comment by sharonccooper | April 9, 2013

  2. Sounds like a great book and I love the cover…I like that you want the actor who plays your hero to be tall, dark, humorous and sexy. My husband (who is now deceased) had all of those qualities. Now my hero wouldn’t even have to be tall or dark, as long as he’s humorous and sexy. He can be…short, dark…& funny.

    Comment by nancygoldberglevine | April 9, 2013

  3. Thanks for coming by Nancy….I have a thing about men with humor, so I get what you are saying. If a man can make me laugh, looks are 2ndary 🙂

    Glad you like the cover and I hope you get the chance to read Some Like it in Handcuffs 🙂

    Comment by ChristineWarner | April 9, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

