Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Author Interview and Giveaway – Sandy Appleyard

It is with great pleasure that I welcome Sandy Appleyard, author of Blessed and Betrayed, to my blog today! Not only is she sharing information about herself and her latest release, The Wife of a Lesser Man, but she is also giving away a $15 Amazon gift card AND a copy of The Wife of a Lesser Man! I’ll tell you more about that shortly, but first, let’s get to know Sandy better.

The wife of a lesser man - cover

Sandy, tell us a little bit about yourself.

I’m a Canadian mom of two and wife to a very supportive husband.  My first two books, which are memoirs, pretty much outline what my life is like.  But essentially I’m an animal lover, avid reader and writer, a clean freak and a health fanatic.

What is your writing process? Do you outline, fly by the seat of your pants or a combination of both?

I do a combination of both.  Story ideas, titles and subplots come to me at strange times, so I record notes and input when time permits.  Because I’m a mystery writer, I generally have to follow an outline so my clues mesh together properly.

Okay Sandy, I know you’re not supposed to show favoritism but who’s been your favorite character to write?

I actually love writing all my characters, but I really enjoyed writing about the minor characters in ‘The Wife of a Lesser Man’.  My favourite is Constable Nelson and mostly because he’s a newbie, still wet behind the ears and so sweet.  Nelson tends to get the simple jobs because he’s new, yet he nails them and proves himself after each task is complete.

Do you have critique partners or beta readers?

I have wonderful beta readers, but one in particular helped me so much with this book that I owe him a world of gratitude.  Beta readers are so important in the final phase of editing; I can’t even tell you.  If it weren’t for beta reading, this book would have ended so flatly; readers would have been disappointed. 

What do you do for fun?

Well, they say if you find something you love doing, you don’t work a day in your life.  Writing to me is fun; so is reading.  I guess I’m a bit of a geek.  Exercising and physical activity (including cleaning my house) is also fun.  I’m weird.

Tell us a little about The Wife of a Lesser Man.

‘The Wife of a Lesser Man’ is a romantic suspense about a married police chief (Mark) who suffers a heart attack right before a serial killer strikes.  He is left impotent and just as he begins to track down the killer; he realizes his wife (Shelley) is having an affair.  The story has many twists; one involving a co-worker of Mark’s who is hiding his wife’s grave illness despite cutting corners in the murder investigation.  Shelley’s single friend Sarah proves to be both a rose and a thorn; she’s supportive during Mark’s convalescence, but she’s also the one who encourages Shelley to flirt and socialize with other men, leading Shelley into temptation.

What was your inspiration behind this book?

I was inspired to write this book after having a ‘what if’ conversation with a dear friend about adultery.  A few days later I had enough notes to start writing, and the book just took off from there. 

If you were going to cast the characters of your book, what actors would get the part?

The main characters Mark and Shelley would be portrayed best, in my opinion, by Liam Neeson (closest character role-Taken) and Michelle Pfeiffer (What Lies Beneath).  Shelley’s best friend Sarah by Marisa Tomei, and Mark’s partner Richard by Brad Garret.

Description – The Wife of a Lesser Man 

They were deeply in love, their days and nights filled with scintillating romance and passionate love making—even after 20 years of marriage. Then fate delivered a hammer blow when a heart attack led to Mark’s impotency and Shelley’s unbearable frustration.

Encouraged by a friend, Shelley becomes flirtatious and unfaithful, finding those moments of glorious intimacy for which she hungered with another man. Mark, a police chief, suspects nothing as he channels all his time and energy into tracking down a serial killer. But when the murderer leaves a terrifying final clue too close to home, only Shelley can solve the case

Excerpt

“I’m so sorry.  I don’t mean to take this out on you.”  Shelley squeezed Sarah’s hand.

Sarah half laughed.  “That’s okay.  Why are you being so apologetic?  I’m your best friend and if I can’t be your punching bag once in a while then what am I good for?”

“What exactly are you scared of?”  Sarah asked, letting go of Shelley’s hand.

“I know it sounds terrible because I should be so thankful that Mark is still with me.  But…I miss him.  I miss his touch and the way he used to look at me.  We used to make love at least a couple times a week, more when we were younger.  Before his heart attack we used to have quickies even at lunch time or whenever we felt the need.  He was so passionate and very ready and able to go. I never needed to ask.”  She took a sip of wine.

“Well give it some time.  I’m sure he’ll come around soon.”

“You’re right.  I know.  But I don’t know why I’m worrying so much.  I mean, it’s not like we’re twenty anymore,” Shelley said, half laughing and waving her head from side to side.

Sarah looked directly at her,  “Shelley.  You’re allowed to feel.  Being afraid and worrying is perfectly natural.  Freaking out under the circumstances is okay.  You held it together miraculously when Mark had his heart attack.  You were bound to lose it some time.”  She paused.  “I’m just curious.  What exactly made you freak out during yoga?  Was it really because I was talking to Michael?”  She took another sip.

“I don’t know.  Maybe you were right about me being jealous.  It is true that you can have sex whenever you want.  I guess it made me realize that with Mark I can’t feel that way anymore.”

Sarah smiled and patted Shelley on the hand.  “Don’t kid yourself honey.  Remember: I’m not twenty any more either.”

Shelley guffawed.  “Yeah, but you can still get hotties like Michael whenever you want.”

Sarah waved off her comment.  “Yeah, but look at that hottie that was checking you out!”

Shelley waved off Sarah’s comment.  “I was just looking at his tattoo.”

“What was that anyway?  A lion?”  Sarah asked.

“Yeah.  It’s his astrological sign.  He’s a Leo.”

Sarah lifted her eyebrows, swaying her hips from side to side and commented in a sultry voice, “I wonder if he goes in like a lion and out like a lamb.”

*

Here’s where you can get your copy of The Wife of a Lesser Man

Amazon (US) 

Amazon (UK)

Giveaway and Blog Tour

The wife of a lesser man-banner

What you can win: A $15 Amazon gift card AND a copy of The Wife of a Lesser Man

To enter for a chance to win: Click here

Sandy, how can readers connect with you? 

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads

LinkedIn

About the Author

Sandy appleyardThis is Sandy’s fourth self-published book and her second novel. Her first romantic mystery, Blessed and Betrayed was received very well by readers and reviewers and was given an average of 4.25 stars on Goodreads and Amazon.

Sandy wrote her first two books, which are memoirs, while her children were infants. The Message in Dad’s Bottle is about her father, who tragically passed at the age of 41 from alcoholism, and I’ll Never Wear a Backless Dress tells Sandy’s personal story about her life with Scoliosis.

Sandy is a full time writer and when she isn’t writing she’s reading, exercising, playing with her children, her cat, or obsessively cleaning her house.

May 14, 2013 - Posted by | Blog Guest | ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

