Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Breaking News: New Harlequin Kimani Romance Authors

It’s official, in the last few months, Harlequin Kimani Romance has signed on three new authors…guess who! Ahh, you’ll probably never guess, so I’ll tell you. Yours truly, Sharon C. Cooper and my dear friends, Candace Shaw and Delaney Diamond have recently signed with Harlequin! Woo hoo!

We’re all very excited about this new endeavor and are looking forward to working with Harlequin Kimani Romance! Note: make sure you stop by Candace and Delaney’s blogs to congratulate them and to learn more about their exciting news (just click on their name wherever it appears in this post).

Harlequin

How I arrived here:

About a year ago, I did a blog post entitled “My Three-book Deal” where I announced my “self-made” three-book deal, promising to self-publish three books in 2012. Well, imagine my surprised when a few months after publishing my first novel, I was contacted by the senior editor of Harlequin Kimani Romance! Yeah, I know, I was shocked too! Long story short, I now have a two-book deal with Harlequin Kimani Romance and the first book will be released Spring of 2014 and the second book – Fall of 2014.

I won’t go into great detail about how this came to be, but I will tell you this – when I first talked with the editor, I had to ask, “How in the world did you find me?” I’m thinking she probably gets thousands of submissions daily, but nothing from me…so how did she find me? The editor said (her exact words), “I was hanging out on Barnes and Noble’s website and ran across your book Something New.” I’m telling you this part of the story because if you’re an aspiring author, and you haven’t considered self-publishing, you might want to reconsider. Apparently, sending submissions to traditional publishers is not the only way to get discovered.

Okay, so a year ago when I created my “self-made” three-book deal, I never imagined that post would turn into so much more! Not only am I writing for Harlequin, but I will continue to self-publish other titles. So stay tuned as I carry on through this exciting writing journey.

BTW, if you have subscribed to my blog, website or have LIKED my Facebook Fan Page, you’ll get first hand information as well as sneak peeks of all my upcoming novels and book covers.

Last, but not least, to all of you who have supported and have encouraged me during this past year (no matter how big or small) – thank you so much! You have a special spot in my heart and I truly appreciate you!

May 22, 2013 - Posted by | Good News | , , ,

33 Comments

  1. Hey girl! We did it!!! Love you!

    Comment by Candace Shaw | May 22, 2013

    • Yes, we did, Candace!! Love you too and I’m so proud of us!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2013

    • Love you, ladies! And I’m happy to be on this journey with my buddies!

      Comment by Delaney Diamond | May 22, 2013

  2. Congratulations Sharon! I am soooo happy for you. May many more book deals come your way.

    Comment by Alicia Jones | May 22, 2013

    • Thanks so much, Alicia! And thank you for all of your support and encouragement over the past couple of years!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2013

  3. Delaney, Candace, Sharon,

    Congrats on the next step in your career! I love reading Kimani books and have quite an extensive collection. I know Donna Hill but not Grace Octavia. Donna’s books are wonderful. I’m excited for all three of you! Since I’m a fan of the books written by all three of you, I’m thinking Harlequin Kimani is the lucky one to have you. I’ll look forward to reading books from all of you for many years to come. Congratulations again on such an auspicious occasion. Whoohoo!

    Belinda G

    Comment by belindaegreen | May 22, 2013

    • Aww, thank you so much Belinda!! I think I can speak for all of us in saying that we truly appreciate your support and your encouragement!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2013

  4. You ladies rock! I’m so happy for you! Congrats!

    Comment by Synithia W | May 22, 2013

  5. Tell the BJ’s to look out, sharon Cooper is on her way. 😉

    Congrats!

    Comment by Yolanda | May 22, 2013

    • Lol! Thank you, Yolanda! …now I just have to figure out how to make that dream anthology w/ the 2 BJ’s come into fruition. Hmmm…

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2013

  6. Congrats!

    Comment by lrwight09 | May 22, 2013

  7. Congratulations Sharon!

    Comment by librarajani | May 22, 2013

  8. Congratulations Sharon!! I am very proud of you, love your writings and I cannot wait for more. I am so blessed to be able to call you family.

    Comment by Heather Cooper | May 22, 2013

    • Thank you, Heather! The feelings are mutual!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2013

  9. Sharon! Yay!!! I am so happy for you! Congratulations! What better way to enjoy something like this than with close friends!

    Comment by Nikki Walker | May 22, 2013

    • Thank you, Nikki! I TOTALLY agree!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2013

  10. Congratulations to you all!!!! I love your work along with Delaney and Candace. Glad to hear you will continue self-publishing.

    Congrats

    Comment by LaMona | May 22, 2013

    • Thank you, Lamona! We all appreciate your support!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2013

  11. Congratulations, Sharon!

    Comment by niaforrester | May 22, 2013

  12. Congratulations! I am so very happy and proud of you guyz!

    Comment by rahey | May 22, 2013

    • Thank you so much, Rahey!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2013

  13. HOOORAY!!! Couldn’t be more excited for you and proud of you. God has truly blessed the work of your hands. 🙂

    Comment by Emily Dally | May 22, 2013

    • Hey Emily!! Thank you so much for all of your support and encouragement!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2013

  14. Congratulations! I am so happy for you! See what hard work and determination can do? And like you said, publishers aren’t looking the same way they used too, just like authors don’t keep waiting
    ! 🙂

    Comment by Author M.J. Kane | May 22, 2013

    • Thank you, M.J! And you’re right – Candace, Delaney and myself are prime examples of authors who didn’t wait AND are examples of how publishers are finding authors in a different manner in which they use to. Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the well wishes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2013

  15. Congratulations. I discovered your books earlier this year and have thoroughly enjoyed them. I can’t wait for your Kimani books.

    Comment by Ruby Page | May 22, 2013

    • Hi Ruby, thanks for stopping by! I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed my work and I look forward to pumping out more books for your enjoyment! 🙂 Thanks so much for your support!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2013

  16. CONGRATS!!!! CAN’T WAIT TO READ THE STORIES!!!

    Comment by Denise Stokes | May 22, 2013

    • Lol! Thank you, Denise!

      Comment by sharonccooper | May 22, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

