Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Loving Day Blog Hop and Giveaway

Loving Day - Banner

If you’re like many, chances are you’ve never heard of Loving Day. Well today, over thirty authors are participating in the Loving Day Blog Hop, giving you an opportunity to learn more about why this day was significant to America’s history, and we’re giving away lots of books and prizes!

But First Things First…

The Loving Day annual celebration held on June 12th is the anniversary of the 1967 United States Supreme Court decision Loving vs. Virginia that struck down all anti-miscegenation laws. Though, the case was brought on by the marriage of a black woman to a white man (Mildred and Richard Loving), the decision eventually had an effect on all interracial marriages, no longer making it a crime for individuals of different races to marry.

Below is a partial interview with one of my most recent heroines, Alandra Pargas, of Rendezvous with Danger, book 2 of the Reunited Series. Since she’s bi-racial, I thought it would be interesting to get her take on the Loving Day celebration and what effects, if any, did anti-miscegenation have on her life.

Interviewer: Alandra, I understand your parents endured great ridicule when they became a couple and even had to forgo marriage for many years due to a society that was anti-miscegenation. How did this affect you growing up?

Alandra: You’re right, with my father being Hispanic and my mother African-American you can just imagine what life was like for them in the late fifties, early sixties. Not only did they have to deal with a society that was closed-minded, but they also endured ridicule from their own families. Despite not being able to marry right away, my parents refused to allow anyone to dictate to them who they could love, enduring unbelievable derision. By the time I came along, they had officially married and were still very much in love. Though their love stood the test of time, my grandparents, on either side, never came around, despite the Loving vs. Virginia ruling. They still didn’t want anything to do with us and I never had the pleasure of getting to know them.

Interviewer: Wow, I’m sorry to hear that…but tell me, how do you feel about interracial marriages?

Alandra: I’m totally fine with it. You can’t help who you fall in love with. I think if you find that person who makes your heart beat double-time and whom you can’t live without, you should go for it – no matter their race.

Interviewer: I know we’ve been talking all morning, but I only have a couple of more questions. When you think of your childhood kitchen, what smell do you associate with it? Why is that smell so resonant for you?

Alandra: Hmm…interesting question. Well, food was a big deal in our house. Both my parents were excellent cooks. We were well fed on tamales, tacos and arepas, as well as collard greens and fried chicken. Lol! I don’t mean to sound stereotypical, but those were the type of meals we had. I don’t think there is one smell that resonates with me more than another, but if I had to pick one, I would have to say the smell of tamales. My father was killed when I was younger and I can’t help but think of him whenever I smell tamales. They remind me of times when my sisters and I would crowd around him whenever he was in the kitchen cooking.

Interviewer: So tell me about Rendezvous with Danger, book 2 of the Reunited Series.

Alandra: Here’s what you would find on the back cover of the paperback and a short excerpt:

Blurb:

Alandra Pargas, ex-CIA counter-intelligence officer, plans to wreak vengeance on the people who tried to kill her. A little rendezvous with danger is not what scares her, though. It’s seeing the tall, dark, and dangerously sexy man she vowed to love forever that has her running for cover.

Former U.S. Special Operative, Quinn Hamilton, left the world of covert operations after the love of his life died in his arms during a black op. Three years later, he still loses sleep wondering if maybe he could have done something more to save her – until Alandra shows up on his doorstep. With her lies and betrayal, he wants nothing to do with her, yet, his heart won’t cooperate. It’s not until unknown enemies come after her that he must decide if he can leave the past behind and protect the woman he’ll always love. Will they survive this last mission and rekindle the love and passion they once shared?

Excerpt

Holy Mother of… There is no way she can be alive. When the woman rose from the sofa, Quinn took a slow perusal of her body from the top of her head down to the red ballerina-like shoes covering her feet. Behind the long straight reddish hair, green contact lenses, and a thinner body than he remembered, stood the woman he’d vowed to love until the end of time. Alandra – dark olive skin, the flattened nose inherited from her Hispanic father, full lips, and a curvaceous body all from her African American mother. Her mixed race was more apparent than he remembered.

He moved in closer. Despite the minor changes to her appearance he was almost sure it was her, but how was it possible? He had held her bloodied body in his arms. No way could she have survived a bullet to the chest. Never had he been at a loss for words when it came to a beautiful woman, but when the woman was supposed to be dead, words escaped him.

“Q, don’t tell me you know this woman,” Malik roared.

“Keep him away from me,” Alandra said of Malik.

Quinn shook his head in disbelief when she spoke. Her deep velvety voice could have easily belonged to a 1-900 phone sex operator.

“You attacked me!” Malik yelled. “I think you busted up one of my ribs with that judo shit. Who the hell are you anyway?”

The question jolted Quinn out of his coma-like shock. He looked from Malik to Wiz, who had just returned with the ice. “I need you guys to give us a minute.”

Malik shook his head. “No way, man. Not before you tell us who she is.”

Quinn narrowed his eyes at Malik, wishing he’d back off, but in all fairness, Quinn couldn’t be mad at them for wanting some answers. Hell, he wanted some too. He looked over his shoulder at Alandra.

“Why don’t you tell my friends who you really are Ms. Aguilar?”

Alandra tilted her head. “Porque no puedes decirles? Ellos son tus amigos.”

He stiffened as though she had struck him. Yeah, these guys were his friends and sure he could tell them who she was, but he was still trying to process her actually being alive, and in his house! The last thing he wanted to do was play games. Feeling his patience wane, he said as calmly as he could. “I want you to tell them.”

Her hands slammed on her hips and she huffed, “My name is Velvet Aguilar.”

With one-step, Quinn was in her face. “Tell them who the hell you really are!”

She jumped at his tone, and Quinn felt Wiz and Malik jolt to attention.

“Come on, Q,” Wiz stepped closer, his hand on Quinn’s shoulder. “Don’t you think you’re being a little harsh?”

Quinn ignored the question, his eyes trained on Alandra. A few seconds passed with them staring at each other.

“Fine. My name is Alandra Pargas-Hamilton … Quinn’s wife.”

**

Want to find out what happens next! Get your copy today!

Buy Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | All Romance ebooks | In paperback – Amazon    CreateSpace

Did you know that there was a prequel to Rendezvous with Danger?? Well there is! Get your *FREE* copy of  Secret Rendezvous here.

ABOUT THE GIVEAWAY

Every blog host participating in the Loving Day Blog Hop is giving away prizes! So make sure you click on the link below and hop around to each site!

HERE’S WHAT I’M GIVING AWAY

First prize: a $5 Amazon gift card and an e-copy of Blue Roses, book 1 of the Reunited Series

Second prize: An e-copy of Blue Roses, book 1 of the Reunited Series

HERE’S HOW YOU CAN ENTER AND WIN:

* Leave a comment on this blog.

* Visit other blogs that are participating in the Loving Day Blog Hop. Each blogger is giving away prizes!!! Did you get that? That means you have a chance to win over thirty prizes (just make sure you leave a comment on the blog sites).

Deadline: You must enter today, no later than 11:59 p.m pst.

I will post the name of my winners on this blog site on Thursday, June 13, 2013. Note: The winner will have been contacted via email by this time.

Good Luck on the Blog Hop – I hope you’re a big winner!

(don’t forget to leave a comment below)

Here is the link to the next blog host participating in the Loving Day Blog Hop.

Laura Cremant

And for other sites participating in the hop click here.

June 12, 2013 - Posted by | Blog Hop | ,

29 Comments

  1. Hi Ms. Sharon,

    I loved Rendezvous with Danger. I have read all in the series so far, and I love them all. I am a fan of all kind of romance. If it is a romance story, I read it. Love is love, and you can’t control who you fall in love with.

    Comment by stephaniebartley1 | June 12, 2013

    • Hi Stephanie, I’m glad you enjoyed Rendezvous with Danger and the other stories in the Reunited Series! I’m with you, I LOVE romance stories and can never get enough! Thanks for stopping by and good luck on the blog hop! I hope you win lots of books and prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 12, 2013

  2. What a great interview! I love learning something new. You were right I hadn’t heard of a Loving Day celebration. My outlook as always is you should be able to love who you want without any interference, period. Great hop idea. Thanks for the opportunity.

    Belinda G
    belgre AT Comcast DOT net

    Comment by belindaegreen | June 12, 2013

    • Thank you, Belinda! I love that there is an annual Loving Day celebration and that I had an opportunity to introduce it to you and others! Thanks for stopping by and good luck on the hop! I hope you win lots of books and fun prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 12, 2013

  3. I loved “Secret Rendezvous” and “Rendezvous with Danger”. I was aware of the Loving case but not of Loving Day. I’m happy that many of my favorite authors are participating.

    Comment by wanda d. | June 12, 2013

    • Hi Wanda! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the two Rendezvous! 🙂 Have fun on the hop and thanks for stopping by! I hope you win lots of great books and prizes!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 12, 2013

  4. Hi Sharon

    I am enjoying your series and other books. Look forward to see what is next.

    Comment by Louise | June 12, 2013

    • Hi Louise, I’m glad you’re enjoying the series! More coming soon! Thanks for stopping by and good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 12, 2013

  5. Great hop, and the stories sound really intriguing!

    Comment by Trix | June 12, 2013

    • Thanks Trix, and thanks for stopping by! Good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 12, 2013

  6. What a wonderful interview, I was raised to believe that love didn’t have a color, and being an army brat a lot of my friends were mixed. I would of loved eating at your house, some of the best memories are from simple foods and great family times.

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

    Comment by jeannie platt | June 12, 2013

    • Thanks Jeannie! I’m glad you enjoyed the short interview. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 12, 2013

  7. Thank you for the lovely post and giveaway! Loved the interview!

    Comment by Veronika | June 12, 2013

    • Thanks Veronika! I appreciate you stopping by. Good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 12, 2013

  8. This is such a great idea for a giveaway hop! IR couples are beautiful and I honestly think they create the most beautiful babies!!
    Thanks for the giveaway! I’m gonna keep hopping along!

    mestith at gmail dot com

    Comment by Meghan Stith | June 12, 2013

    • Lol, Meghan! Thanks for stopping by and good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 12, 2013

  9. Great interview! Blue Roses sounds like a great book! Love it! I grew up with a family that believes everyone is equal. Skin is nothing but a color. To me, people who discriminate, there simple minded and i feel sorry for them. There are so many amazing people out there who are different color. But thats just it, there people. None of us are lined with golden insides. Some people base way to much on looks and colors. *sigh* I grew up believing were all different, and that makes us special. Theres nothing to look down on or look unkindly about. If you love someone, or even friends, the skin color doesnt matter. The real person is inside. There personalities are what matter. And no matter a persons color, the way they look, etc, there beautiful and they should embrace it. Thank you for sharing it with us! And for being apart of this awesome hop!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

    Comment by shadowluvs2read | June 12, 2013

    • Well said, Shadow! Thanks for stopping by and good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 12, 2013

  10. Loved the Reunited Series… Hated when Rendezvous with Danger ended…
    Will we hear more from Quinn and Alandra?

    caiidynsmommie(at)gmail(dot)com

    Comment by LaTanya Lawson | June 12, 2013

    • Hi LaTanya! So glad you’re enjoying the Reunited Series. As for Quinn and Alandra…there is a VERY good chance you might hear from them again. 🙂 Stay tuned and thanks for stopping by! Good luck on the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 12, 2013

  11. Loved the interview. I loved learning more about Alandra.

    Comment by valloryv | June 12, 2013

    • Thanks for stopping by Vallory! Enjoy the hop!

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 12, 2013

  12. Great interview!
    I am married to someone of a different race and although it didn’t cause any issues in our relationship, there were/are a few people in my family that don’t really agree with it. They voiced their opinions and that was it. Thankfully, they are not people that we have to be around on a regular basis. We are happy!

    I really enjoyed the excerpt and could not imagine how Q would be feeling after thinking he held her while she died. Wow! That is powerful. Thank you for sharing and for the wonderful giveaway.
    I am adding this one to my TBR pile. 🙂

    Comment by Tina B | June 12, 2013

    • Thanks for sharing a part of your story Tina! I’m glad you and your husband haven’t let the negative people affect your relationship! Thanks for stopping by and you were entered into the contest.

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 13, 2013

  13. Good interview Sharon. Look forward to reading Alandra story.

    Comment by LaShaunda Hoffman | June 12, 2013

    • Thanks for stopping by LaShaunda! I hope you enjoy Rendezvous with Danger. Note: you were entered into the contest.

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 13, 2013

  14. I am so ready for your next series. I loved and have all the other books that u have released. Keep up the good work and please don’t keeping us waiting to long 🙂

    Comment by nichelle Harris | June 12, 2013

    • Lol, Nichelle! Thanks so much for your support and I’m glad you’ve enjoyed my stories! More coming soon! Thanks for stopping by and you were entered into the contest.

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 13, 2013

  15. Congratulations to the winners – Belinda G. and Meghan S! Note: winners have been notified via email. Thanks to all who participated in the Loving Day Blog Hop!

    Comment by sharonccooper | June 13, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

