Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Jaded Hearts by Olivia Linden

author photoIt is with great pleasure that I welcome author Olivia Linden to my blog today! Olivia has stopped by to do an interview and to share one of her favorite scenes from her debut novel, Jaded Hearts. Join me in welcoming Olivia!

Okay Olivia, let’s get started.  What inspired you to write Jaded Hearts?

A friend read some of the chapters that I had written years ago, that were just collecting dust. She demanded more, and I ended up completing the book to supply her demands! lol

Lol! Friends do have a way of lighting a fire under us don’t they? So, did you always want to be a writer? If not, what else did you want to do?

I always loved writing, but when I was younger I wanted to be a teacher.

On your road to megastardom, what types of interesting or odd jobs have you held?

Ha Ha! From your lips! My jobs haven’t really been ultra interesting. I previously worked for a security contractor to the government. I learned a lot working in that industry. The most interesting has to be working in hospitality. You don’t know drama until you’ve worked for a large hotel.

Whew, I can only imagine! 

So, what is your greatest accomplishment as an author so far?

Taking a step, and deciding to self-publish my book. I have surprised myself  by doing things that I never thought I would be able to do.

What has been your biggest mistake (or challenge) as an author?

This answer will qualify as both: Not researching the industry or having any idea of exactly what self-publishing entailed when I began the process. I have learned a lot so far, but I have a lot to learn. I would have spent more time writing my series and developing my brand before jumping into the game.

What was the nicest comment or most interesting question you’ve received from a reader?

I think all positive feedback is like gold for most creative folks. When someone says they loved the book, and couldn’t put it down it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy.

What do you do for fun?

Fun is as fun does, so I try to make the most out of anything I do. Bowling, shooting pool, or spending time with family and friends is always sure to be fun.

Okay, Olivia, now tell us about Jaded Hearts:

Book Cover -Jaded Hearts -Olivia Linden

At 24 years old, Jade Spencer’s life has hit a brick wall. Haunted by the mysterious abandonment of her mother, she found it was easier to live in the shadows of someone elses expectations.  From the strict authority of her  grandmother, the unwillingly guardian to Jade and her brother, to a controlling fiance who she can’t seem to please, denying her feelings has been a necessary coping mechanism. Reality has suddenly come crashing in under the strain of denying her own dreams for so long, and for once, Jade is ready to live life by her own rules.

It’s time for a fresh start. Turning away from the disappointment of her past, Jade ditches her shady fiance and packs her bags for New York City. With help from her aunt, she looks forward to her new future, her fabulous apartment in the city, a new job, and new experiences. Two fated encounters complicate her world when they both lead to unexpected and powerful emotions. She struggles with her desire to embrace these new feelings, and her habit of denying what she truly wants. In this not so classic love triangle, with a hint of mystery, Jade learns the hard way that sometimes intentions can mean everything and nothing at all, and no matter how far you run from the past, it’s never too far behind.

Will she find love or will she leave a trail of jaded hearts? Love, secrets, and lies are all on the menu.

Is there a scene in the book you particularly enjoyed?

There are a few scenes that I enjoyed, but this one is the funniest to me:

Excerpt:

I went to the kitchen to get a drink and collect myself. How was I letting someone who wasn’t even here affect my life?

Freaking Ghost!

“You know, crazy people tend to talk to themselves.” Drew walked up and took the drink out of my hand as if I had just made it for him. I just shook my head.

“I’m gonna kill Jackie. How could she not give me a heads up about Edward?” I was riled up.

“Who is Edward?”

“He is freaking Julian’s Uncle.” I sputtered

“Who is freaking Julian?” Drew was not following.

I gave him a shamefaced look and long sigh.

He looked at me like a brother who was enjoying his sister finally being the one in a mess.

“Don’t do that.” I snipped.

“Do what?” He asked.

“Don’t judge me.” I used his other favorite line on him and he laughed.

“Damn, Baby girl. I need details before I can do that. You know the rules.”

So I told him about my very brief whirlwind relationship with Julian. In typical Drew fashion he let out a long whistle after I was done.

“Yo, you don’t do anything small do you? I mean you really didn’t do anything because you met this guy first, and JB is JB so I don’t blame you for that, but you do have to check yourself.”

“I don’t even realize I need to be checked until random shit like this happens.” I defended.

“Well, that’s what I mean. Get yourself in check. Either confront this shit or put it in a box and burn it. JB is not going to have it. Alpha male to the highest power and smart enough to check himself.” He advised.

“Confront what?” I knew I shouldn’t get upset, but I couldn’t help it.

“That! All of that right there. Snapped.com. Get a grip!” Just as he was giving me the fake Mike Tyson right hook, Jackie walked in looking like she caught the canary. Drew stood between us like a bodyguard.

“I was wondering where you two were. Are you ever coming back outside?” She grabbed my drink from Drew.

“Don’t give me that. Are you serious right now?” The wrong words and I was going to blow.

“Jade! I didn’t know he was coming. He called me and asked what I was doing, and then he called an hour later saying he was here.” She sounded convincing.

“He called to see if you could work and then showed up? How did he get here without directions?” I was not following.

Jackie just looked at me and Drew with a guilty grin.

Oh!

“You’re seeing Edward? Jesus take the wheel!” I was a little slow at times.

Drew laughed so hard his platinum shades fell off of his head.

“Man, you can’t pay to see shit like this. This is classic. Priceless, even! If I don’t do anything else for the rest of the week my trip is already worth it.”

*

Get your copy today!

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

Olivia, where can readers find you online?

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Jaded Hearts Club | Pintrest

About the Author:

Olivia Linden was born in Queens, NY but raised between Queens and San Antonio, TX. Reading and writing were her passions from a very young age. Other than a blog and a few articles written for a website, Olivia is a newbie to the industry. Jaded Hearts (The Jaded Hearts Club Vol. 1) is her first published novel. Olivia’s writing style takes after her personality in a big way. Her sometimes sarcastic, and usually humorous tone comes across in her stories. In reality, she prefers to laugh her way through even the toughest of situations.

 

July 2, 2013 - Posted by | Blog Guest | ,

11 Comments

  1. I know what you mean about the hospitality industry. I used to work at a restaurant. Nuff said. Lol.

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | July 2, 2013

    • My hat goes off to you both – I don’t think I have what it takes to work in the hospitality industry. Thanks for stopping by Delaney!

      Comment by sharonccooper | July 2, 2013

    • Lol! Yes, crazy 4-sure!

      Comment by Olivia Linden | July 2, 2013

  2. Maybe you can do a story based on your experience working for the hotel! Great interview!

    Comment by Nikki Walker | July 2, 2013

    • Thanks for stopping by Nikki!

      Comment by sharonccooper | July 2, 2013

    • Stories for days Nikki! Thank you!

      Comment by Olivia Linden | July 2, 2013

  3. Hi Ms. Sharon,

    Great interview! I just got my copy of Jaded Hearts, and I can’t wait to start reading it. It was good to get to know you Ms. Olivia. I am sure I am going to enjoy your novels.

    Comment by stephaniebartley1 | July 2, 2013

    • Hi Stephanie, thanks for stopping by and for supporting Ms. Olivia!

      Comment by sharonccooper | July 2, 2013

    • Thanks Stephanie! Be sure to let me know what you think. Enjoy! 🙂

      Comment by Olivia Linden | July 2, 2013

  4. Hi Ladies! Thank you Sharon! That hotel book may be in the works, I’ve got so many stories! lol

    Comment by Olivia Linden | July 2, 2013

  5. Reblogged this on Via Linden Lounge and commented:
    Don’t miss my great interview with Sharon C. Cooper!

    Comment by Olivia Linden | July 2, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

