Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

When Two Become One

It is with great pleasure that I welcome my author friend, Alicia Hill Jones, to my blog today! Alicia has stopped by for an interview and to share one of her favorite scenes from her latest novel, When Two Become One. Join me in welcoming Alicia!

when-two-become-one-alicia-hill-jones-paperback-cover-artOkay Alicia, let’s get started. What is your greatest accomplishment as an author so far? 

Independently publishing two novels under my publishing company, Destiny 11 Publications and the great feedback that I have received from readers.

How do you celebrate each book release?

I haven’t really ‘celebrated’ my book releases…maybe I should (smile).  However, I do take at least a week off from anything writing related to prepare myself for the marketing & promotion hustle.  Most importantly, I take time out to thank God for everything that enables me to produce my books.

What inspired you to write your latest release?

At the time I wrote “When Two Become One”, I was going through a dry spell in my marriage, so writing was therapeutic to me.  As I continued to write, the story and characters started to evolve beyond my experiences.  At that moment I felt God not only wanted to use the novel to help me, but also others that can relate to the characters and the situations they faced.

What genre do you write in and have you ever considered another genre? 

Inspirational/Christian fiction is the genre I currently write in.  I haven’t considered writing in another genre, but I like suspense/mystery stories.  Right now, I don’t think I have a suspense or mystery story inside of me, but you never know—one day I may give writing one a try.

I definitely think you should try your hand at writing romantic suspense! They are a lot of fun to write. Now, Alicia, do you have any writing rituals that help to get your mojo flowing so you can write?

Recently I discovered that the sound of water, like ocean waves or a flowing fountain relaxes my mind and gets scenes/words flowing in my head.  So, I’ve invested in a desktop water fountain that I plan to use very soon and as often as possible.  Relaxation and quiet time are essential to my creative mojo.  Maybe one day I’ll own an oceanfront house that I can retreat to and write to my heart’s content.

Now for some fun. I’m going to throw out a word and you give me the first answer that comes to mind.

Dessert:  Chocolate chip cookies

City:  Charlotte, NC

Season:  Spring

Type of hero & heroine:  An everyday person who does something for someone out of the kindness of their hearts—not for recognition or reward.

Actor:  Denzel Washington

Actress:  Angela Bassett

Band:  Mint Condition

Solo singer:  Jill Scott

Color:  Green

Cuisine:  Seafood

Leather or lace? Leather

Long or short hair? Short hair

Fruity drink or strong liquor? Fruity drink

Heels or flats? Heels

Jeans or skirt? Jeans

Coffee or tea? Tea

Glamorous girl or girl next door? ½ Glamarous girl, ½ girl next door

Picky eater or adventurous? Picky eater

Glamorous makeup or au naturale? Au naturale

Sexy bed-head or sophisticated coif? Sophisticated coif

Those were great! And can I just say that we have the same favorite actor and actress! Okay, a couple of more questions:

What adjectives would your close friends use to describe you?

Ambitious, smart, organized, humble, quiet, down-to-earth, and funny.

Finish this sentence: The one thing I would like to change about myself is…

Being able to stay focused on the task at hand without getting overwhelmed with all the things I ‘need’ to do, so that I don’t end up doing nothing.

Description: When Two Become One

A marriage is destined for divorce long before the couple’s first date. In this inspirational faith-based novel, the battered foundation of Jonas and Shayna Ambrose’s four year marriage is about to crumble when an unexpected pregnancy occurs. Fortunately, the mother-to-be is not one of Jonas’ mistresses, but his wife. The problem: Jonas is adamant about Shayna not having the baby. At odds about the pregnancy they separate, until tragic events reunite them. But something is still missing in the relationship. When truths are exposed, will the Ambrose union be able to overcome issues deeper than what’s on the surface?

Is there a scene in the book you particularly enjoy?

It’s so hard to choosed just one scene, but one that I enjoyed is when Shayna gets a call from her mother-in-law, Charlotte and they have an heart to heart regarding the future of Jonas and Shayna’s marriage.  This conversation marks a turning point in the couple’s relationship, but in which direction you’ll have to read the book to find out (smile).

Excerpt 

Shayna closed her eyes that burned with tears.

“Do you still love my son?”

“Yes, I do,” Shayna’s voice cracked, but the words surprised her.  It felt sure compared to weeks ago when she’d left the meeting with First Lady Amanda with so much uncertainty.  Truth be told, she missed Jonas.  His long hours spent away at work seemed minor compare to the time that had crept by over the past weeks, knowing she’d be sleeping alone.

“Shayna, it’s gonna take that love and you trusting God with all your heart to fight for your marriage.  And since Jonas is running from God, you’re gonna need enough faith for both of you.  I’m not trying to force you into letting him come home because he’s my son.  It’s important that you do what’s best for you, but be sure you’re under God’s direction.”  Charlotte placed her on hold and after a few seconds, returned to the phone.  “Jonas is awake now, so I’m going to tend to him.  I will continue to pray for both of you, and if you need anything from me don’t you hesitate to call, okay?”

“Yes, I will.  Thank you.”

“You take care, honey.”

Shayna hung up the phone, with mixed feelings.  Charlotte’s good intentions had just added another chapter to her story.  Shayna didn’t know how two helpless and broken people could save a marriage buried in rubble.  Was it worth keeping her heart and sanity on the line to find out?

******

Get Your Copy Today!

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Website

About the Author:

AHJ Pic

Imagine giving birth to something that has developed inside you for over 20 years.  The combination of school, work, family, and fear of rejection aged Alicia Hill Jones’s dream to become a published author, but her dream never died.

Born and raised in Richmond, Virginia, Alicia discovered her love for creative writing at the age of 12. Growing up in a rough, low-income neighborhood is part of her history—but not her story.  Through life lessons and faith, Alicia realized that when God blesses you with a gift or talent it will not return to Him void.  In the fall of 2005, Alicia accepted her destiny and began writing Blessings of Purpose, a novel.  In between writing, she founded and established Destiny 11 Publications, LLC an independent publishing company by which she publishes her work and plans to present other aspiring authors to the world.  Alicia resides in Richmond, Virginia with her husband and their two daughters.

Where can readers find you online?

Website | Facebook Destiny 11 Publications

Thanks for hanging out with me today, Alicia! I’ll anxiously await that romantic suspense that you’re going to write!

July 12, 2013 - Posted by | Blog Guest | ,

4 Comments

  1. This is a very nice interview and I am looking forward to reading Alicia story.

    Comment by Louise | July 12, 2013

    • Thanks for stopping by, Louise! I’m sure Alicia would appreciate your support!

      Comment by sharonccooper | July 12, 2013

  2. That was a good interview and I look forward to reading When Two Become One.

    Comment by Donna | July 12, 2013

    • Thanks for stopping by, Donna! I think you’ll enjoy When Two Become One.

      Comment by sharonccooper | July 12, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

