Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

One by One – by Author Yawatta Hosby

one_by_one2It is with great pleasure that I welcome author Yawatta Hosby to my blog today! Yawatta is introducing us to her novel entitled: One by One! I thought this would be perfect seeing that it’s Halloween! But before Yawatta tells us about her mystery thriller, let’s get to know her.

Yawatta, tell us a little about yourself.

I’m from the eastern panhandle of West Virginia, an hour away from Washington D.C. At West Virginia University, I got my bachelor’s degree in Business Administration, my major was accounting. I should have pulled a Felicity and focused on art or writing instead.

I told myself if I didn’t have a career by the age of 30, then I would go to graduate school. It was time to make a decision a year ago, so I decided to become an author. No more writing as a hobby. It was the best decision I could have ever made. The arts will always be my passion—don’t get me wrong, I love math too.

When I was 8, I drew all the time. In the 7th grade, I took my first creative writing class and fell in love with it. My friends and family kept telling me that I should write novels or illustrate children’s books. I guess I finally listened 🙂

How did you come up with the idea for One By One?

For my first attempt at NaNo, I kept reading that it’s supposed to be a fun challenge. What better way to challenge yourself than to write in a genre you’ve never written in before.

My inspiration came from multiple sources. Agatha Christie is my favorite author, so I wanted to give my take on an updated Then There Were None. I really enjoyed the TV show “Harper’s Island” when I watched the marathon on the Chiller Channel, and all the “Scream” movies are my favorites. I wanted a story where a group of tortured friends have to figure out who’s the culprit, if they want a chance to survive. I also wanted a huge betrayal and a satisfying twist at the end.

What kinds of writer support groups do you belong too? Do they help with the writing, marketing and the publishing process?

I work best with writing buddies and/or critique partners. We motivate each other as well as share feedback on what works and what doesn’t in a scene or story. Melissa has been great with sharing my blog posts by tweeting. Essentially, I do my own marketing and publishing.

When you start writing, do you already have the story plotted out or do you let the characters dictate what will happen?

It’s a mixture of both. Before I start a rough draft, I have the plot outline and character sketches already available. However, most of the time, the plot totally changes by the end of the story. Not necessarily the end result, just the different path of a character’s journey. For example, when writing One By One, I already knew the order of everyone’s deaths. The only thing that changed were the ways in which they died—sometimes you have to get creative 🙂

Tell us about One By One

A group of friends vacation in an isolated cabin; they’re terrorized one by one. How many will survive? Three? Two? One? None?

Let’s face it, there’s been plenty of books about a group of friends being murdered in the woods by a crazy killer. Mine is different because of the killer’s motivation. Hopefully, readers will feel what the characters are going through; I try my best to make every single scene engaging, showing rather than telling (like it would appear on the big screen). I believe that readers will enjoy the back and forth between characters (especially when they start turning on each other) and will be caught up with solving the mystery.

What inspired you to write in your genre?  Is this the genre you started writing in or have you morphed to this one?

I watch a lot of horror movies, and recently, I’ve been a fan of shows with psychological mindgames. It was only a matter of time before I’d be interested in writing in the thriller/suspense genre. I started writing dramas (I think that’s considered literary or contemporary fiction). Tear jerkers will always be my favorite; being a Negative Nancy helps create scenarios where there’s a lot of tension with my characters, internally and externally.

Do you have a favorite character you have written?

A favorite character I’ve written has been Sequoia from my untitled women’s fiction novel. Usually I write about shy women or women who are pretty stubborn once they make up their mind about enjoying their independence instead of dating. Sequoia was the first person, who’s pretty flirtatious and charming. She’s also quite manipulative, so it was fun writing her character—someone totally opposite from me.

Short answer favorites:

Dessert – Chocolate Pie

Favorite City – New York City

Season – Fall

Actor –Ian Somerhalder

Actress –Natalie Portman

Band/solo singer – Rihanna

Color – Blue

Cuisine – Macaroni and Cheese

What are you currently working on, and what else is in the wings?

I have rough drafts I’m working on. I actually just finished another NaNo challenge in May. I created a 30,000 word story called Trapped: A Novella. It’s suspenseful and based off a short story I had written. It’s about a guy who’s obsessed with wanting a family, no matter the costs.

Something’s Amiss is a women’s fiction novel that I’m working on. It’s almost time for beta-readers. It’s a drama about two exes who reunite after their best friend passes away.

I have another women’s fiction novel that I’m working on. Still untitled. It’s about a love triangle between three celebrities.

ONE BY ONE BLURB

Alone in the woods, thirty miles from civilization with no cell phone reception, the weekend turns into a deadly game when a killer hunts Rae and her friends. They struggle to stay alive and discover the truth.

Is someone stalking them, or is there a killer among the group?

Reminiscent of “Harper’s Island,” ONE BY ONE is a disturbing mystery thriller where a group of friends let paranoia get the best of them. With suspense and betrayal, it’ll also remind readers of “Scream.” Someone never intended for them to leave the cabin and will follow through with the plan by any means necessary.

EXCERPT FROM ONE BY ONE

“Where do you think they are?” Logan asked.

Kenan sat on top of a rotted tree stump. He rubbed his forehead. “I have no idea. If I did, we’d already be there.”

Logan sighed. He had no choice but to follow Kenan’s lead because he knew the area more than Logan did.

He wanted to ask Kenan a more personal question, like did he think something awful happened to them? Kenan was quiet during their search and had calmly taken over this morning that Logan couldn’t tell if his friend was freaking out.

If a tragedy happened ten years ago, it could occur again.

The boys didn’t speak for a while. Logan tapped his sneaker between the moss and tall grass. They should be trying to pinpoint their friends’ whereabouts. What was Kenan doing? Every second counted. “I’m sorry. I know this must be hard for you.”

“What?”

Logan lowered his eyes to the ground, whispering, “Being here at the cabin.”

“I slept like a baby last night, actually.”

“Well, Rae was having a hard time. Last night she came to me and said she couldn’t sleep. She asked where Brady was.”

“Why didn’t she come to me?” Kenan frowned, standing up.

Logan shrugged his shoulders.

He rubbed his forehead and sighed. “Why didn’t you tell me? You could’ve woken me up if I was asleep.”

“The thought didn’t even cross my mind.”

“Well, next time it should.” Kenan cracked his neck. “I’m sorry. I’m just worried about her. It’s like she’s afraid to bring up the past because she’s trying to protect me.”

“Just like you’re trying to protect her.”

“She must be really freaking out this morning. I should’ve stayed with her.” Kenan threw on his black hoodie because a light drizzle started. Logan wished he would have brought something to protect himself from the rain, while hoping it wouldn’t storm. He wore a red t-shirt and red athletic shorts that went past his knees. Even though he wasn’t afraid of thunder and lightning, Logan was smart. There would be no protection with only trees surrounding them.

No one could afford to get hurt at this place. Who knew how far the hospital was…

*

BUY LINKS

Amazon | Smashwords | Barnes and Noble

Here’s how you can reach Yawatta on the internet:

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads

October 31, 2013 - Posted by | Blog Guest | ,

6 Comments

  1. Yawatta, I’m actually a thriller/suspense fan myself, and I adore Agatha Christie. I’m putting your book on my TBR list for when I’m in the mood for a thriller read. Much success to you!

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | October 31, 2013

  2. Hey Delaney,

    Thank you. I love Agatha Christie and thriller/suspense too. There’s nothing more exciting than trying to solve a mystery before the last page, or to read something so frightening that it sort of tests your fight or flight response.

    Good luck with your publishing journey!!!

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    P.S. Sharon, thanks for letting me be a guest on your blog today!!!

    Comment by yhosby | October 31, 2013

  3. […] I don’t have any chocolate for you guys, but I’d like to share a treat on Halloween. I had the pleasure of being interviewed by Sharon C. Cooper. What’s the perfect day to be featured as a guest post to promote a mystery thriller (some have even described it as horror)? Halloween, of course!!! If you’re interested in hearing what I had to say, please go to: One By One By Author Yawatta Hosby. […]

    Pingback by If You Like Treats For Halloween, Check Out My New Author Interview!!! | yawattahosby | October 31, 2013

  4. Sounds good. Great lntervlew …wlll have to check out your book.

    Comment by nancygoldberglevine | November 1, 2013

    • Thanks for stopping by, Nancy!

      Comment by sharonccooper | November 2, 2013

    • Thanks Nancy!

      I hope you enjoy it 🙂

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      Comment by yhosby | November 4, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

