Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Stay in Balance

BalanceFor the last two days, I’ve taken a much-needed break – short – but a break nonetheless. So as I prepared for my busy day today, I started it the way I usually do, with a morning devotion. My devotion this morning came from RUMC – The Word for You Today. Here’s the part that really caught my attention:

“If you are an ‘all-or-nothing’ person, the word for you today is, ‘stay in balance.’ Serve God fervently, but don’t forget to love your family and spend time with them. Work hard, but don’t forget to play, relax and ‘smell the roses.’ Think regularly about heaven, your permanent residence, but maximize every moment you have here on earth for God’s glory.”

Or as Joyce Meyer says: “I believe one of the major reasons why many people are stressed and burned out is because they’re going their own way instead of following God’s plan.”

As an entrepreneur, it’s real easy for my life to become unbalanced or stressed. I’m often trying to squeeze in that one more thing, or pull an all-nighter to get everything done. So I appreciate reminders such as this devotion, to reel me back in when I’m going a hundred miles per hour, or lose sight of what’s most important.

So how’s your life? Is it balanced?

April 21, 2014 - Posted by | Just Thinking

13 Comments

  1. Needed that reminder Sharon! Thank you.

    Comment by Crystal | April 21, 2014

    • My pleasure, Crystal! It was timely for me as well.

      Comment by sharonccooper | April 21, 2014

  2. Hurray for balance. Stress is not our friend. It not only sucks our energy, but it affects or mind and body in very negative ways. No good can come from being stressed, and to be honest, there’s always something else that needs our attention.

    Checklists and schedules help me maintain balance, but there are times when I’m going 100 miles an hour because I need to meet a deadline or some such thing. For the most part, though, I try to have a good mix of work and relaxation.

    Comment by Delaney Diamond | April 21, 2014

    • Thanks for stopping by Delaney! That’s good you’re working a balance between work and relaxation. I’m getting there. I start off good, but then I soon forget about the relaxation part. Lol. Thank goodness for reminders. When I grow up, I’ll be more like you…hopefully! 🙂

      Comment by sharonccooper | April 21, 2014

  3. I constantly need this reminder. I’m the type that even when I’m sick I’ll check my calendar to see if I have any meetings before deciding to call in. I do schedule vacations and down time, but sometimes I have to remind myself that it’s okay to say no and take a day, or an hour, for myself.

    Comment by Synithia W | April 21, 2014

    • You’re right, Synithia! I’m still working on giving myself permission to say no and take much needed time off (even if its an hour or two). I still have some work to do, but I proved this week that there is hope. 🙂

      Comment by sharonccooper | April 21, 2014

  4. I feel as though I’m always a little off balance and that can be fun. But when too much is rushing at you all the time, it’s not healthy. You summarized it perfectly here.

    Each morning I “enter my day” as my friend Melanie advised with some yoga stretches and 15 minutes of prayer and reflection. (In fact I just finished.) It gives me a great start to my day and helps me focus on today’s goals and God’s will.

    Comment by claireflaire | April 21, 2014

    • Sounds like you have a great morning ritual in place, Claire! Cool! I know my day is always better when it starts with an unrushed devotional time.

      Comment by sharonccooper | April 21, 2014

  5. Reblogged this on ClaireFlaire and commented:
    Sharon Cooper’s recent post struck a groove with me.

    I feel as though I’m always a little off balance and that can be fun. But when too much is rushing at you all the time, it’s not healthy. You summarized it perfectly here.

    Each morning I “enter my day” as my friend Melanie advised with some yoga stretches and 15 minutes of prayer and reflection. (In fact I just finished.) It gives me a great start to my day and helps me focus on today’s goals and God’s will.

    Comment by claireflaire | April 21, 2014

  6. Thanks for the post, Sharon. I have a similar morning routine of stretching and praying before I take my run. Sometimes God’s will isn’t clear to me, though, so I just keep putting one foot in front of the other, hoping He’ll eventually grant me a pair of spiritual spectacles to bring His plan into focus.

    Comment by twtrifles | April 21, 2014

    • Thanks for stopping by Twtrifles! I love your way with words and I’m a witness that he always brings His plan into focus. Sometimes it’s not as fast as we (I) would like. 🙂

      Comment by sharonccooper | April 21, 2014

  7. I seem to always struggle with balancing my life. This is the topic of the devotional I’m writing – it’s way too easy to let the busyness of life take control. I just continually remind myself that God is in control, to meditate on Him and breathe deeply. It helps bring peace to crazy-busy woman’s life. Thanks for the much needed reminder.

    Jaime at Awakenings and Reflections

    Comment by Jaime | April 27, 2014

    • Hi Jaime, I think the best reminder is what you said – God is in control! Thanks for sharing and for stopping by!

      Comment by sharonccooper | April 28, 2014


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

