Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Our Search for Significance

If you have followed this blog for a while, you know that every now and then I have these – “Just Thinking” moments. Well, here’s another one.

Exodus

This weekend I went to see the movie Exodus, Gods and Kings starring Christian Bale (you know – the old Batman). As a believer of the Bible, I was curious to see how the creators and directors would portray the second book of the Bible. I must say, I enjoyed the movie. Not just because it had some great action, dynamic actors, and some AWESOME special effects, but also because they did a good job in telling part of Moses’ story. Granted they took a few creative liberties (which I liked), but for the most part, they were on point. Initially, I wasn’t sure I liked the part of how they had God reveal Himself to Moses, but by the end of the movie, I thought it worked. And then there were some scenes that were absolutely brilliant! As a Believer, those scenes, were downright powerful, reminding me that God is truly in control. Throughout the movie, you clearly saw the power of God.

For those who are not familiar with the book of Exodus (in the Bible), you might want to check it out before seeing the movie. You’ll better understand various parts.

Oh, and let me say this about the movie – I’m REALLY glad I didn’t go and see the movie in 3D. The scenes with the plagues would have totally freaked me out! Lol.

I can’t say that I had one favorite part, but one of the things that intrigued me about Exodus (the movie) is how Moses struggled with the truth about who he really was. He was raised as an Egyptian, but born a Hebrew. Once the truth was revealed, I wouldn’t necessarily say that he was searching for significance, but I enjoyed watching his internal conflict play out from that moment on in the movie. I also liked how the creators of the movie showed him arguing (sort of) with God. Basically saying that  – You want me to help free your people, but You need to help a brotha out! Okay, maybe he didn’t really say it like that – but that’s what I heard (in my own twisted way of hearing/thinking – smile).

At any rate, it was an enjoyable movie that got me to thinking. Hence, my “Just Thinking” moment.  I think many of us search for significance. Either by trying to keep up with the latest fashions, by trying to be seen with a popular person or group, or anything else that will make us feel important – like we matter. It’s easy to forget that none of that really matters as long as we know who we are to God.

As we go into the Christmas season, I can’t help but feel blessed in knowing that I have a wonderful family and amazing friends who make me feel like I matter. But most importantly, I know I’m significant because of whose I am. I belong to God. For me – just as long as I remember that, nothing else matters.

“For I am the Lord your God…you are precious and honored in my sight.” Isaiah 43:3-4.

Merry Christmas All!

Have a fun and safe holiday season and remember that you are significant and loved!

December 18, 2014 - Posted by | Just Thinking |

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

