Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Honored and Happy

Hi all!

I spent this past weekend in Dallas, TX celebrating the 20th Anniversary of Romance Slam Jam (RSJ). For those of you who are not familiar with RSJ it’s an organization that brings African-American authors and readers together. RSJ has created an opportunity for readers to meet and get to know some of their favorite authors.

It was super exciting to meet readers who have sent me wonderful emails and who I communicate with on social media platforms. I’m telling you, some of these readers know my characters better than I do! I really enjoyed discussing the stories with them!

Though I attended as an author, I have to admit I did have my fangirl moments when I saw some of my favorite authors (Beverly Jenkins, Farrah Rochon, Sienna Mynx, Zuri Day, and the list goes on). And what TOTALLY blew me away is that they knew my name (and it’s not because I stalk them either)!! WAY COOL!

The conference consisted of workshops, interactive games, a book signing and an awards ceremony. RSJ is known for its Emma awards. Each year books/titles and individuals are nominated in twelve categories.

A few months ago, I was notified that two of my books had finaled. ALL YOU’LL EVER NEED – Interracial Romance of the Year (this was a new category) and TRUTH OR CONSEQUENCES – Suspense of the Year. I was super excited by the news!

RSJ winners
Well, I’m thrilled to inform you that I won both categories/awards! YAY! To say I was shocked when the announcer called my name, would be an understatement. I was happy to be nominated, but I have read books by some of the authors who had also finaled and knew the competition was steep. So to hear my name called not once, but twice was beyond exciting! I’m so glad I was surrounded by some of my author friends. Otherwise I probably would have really been a nervous wreck! I was a little nervous even with them there…okay, maybe a lot nervous prior to the awards ceremony! But having them there to share the moment was absolutely priceless! 

Rsj award - interracialrsj award
My writing career has exceeded my expectations. When I published my first book almost three years ago, I honestly didn’t know what to expect. I was just hoping to at least sell a book to someone who wasn’t family! Lol. I owe so much to my author friends who were wonderful in answering my fifty-million questions and sharing information regarding self-publishing & publishing. And I will be forever indebted to them! Even years later they are still supportive and encouraging.

Actually, I think this is the perfect time to say THANK YOU to all of them (published & unpublished)! You guys are truly the wind beneath my wings. And to the readers – OMG! You all ROCK! The wonderful feedback that you give me about my work makes me want to keep writing! THANK YOU!

Stay tuned, I’m going to have some giveaways in the very near future to celebrate!

March 31, 2015 - Posted by | Awards | , , , , ,

15 Comments

  1. Congratulations. I am so proud of you. Keep up the great work and reap your harvest! #team#Sharon

    Comment by Tammy C. | March 31, 2015

  2. congrats Sharon, those two books are very good reads. I love truth or consequences – awesome book. Keep on writing for your ardent fans.

    Comment by d9nna | March 31, 2015

    • Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed Truth or Consequences! And I sooo appreciate my ardent fans! 🙂

      Comment by sharonccooper | March 31, 2015

  3. Reblogged this on ClaireFlaire and commented:
    Congratulations Sharon on two well-deserved awards. Now even more readers will fall in love with you and your characters.

    Comment by claireflaire | March 31, 2015

  4. I was looking for you to give you a big hug! Congrats to you Author Sharon Cooper!

    Comment by piperhuguley | March 31, 2015

    • Thank you, Piper! And congratulations on your two wins!!! We’ll exchange congratulatory hugs in a couple of weeks. 🙂

      Comment by sharonccooper | March 31, 2015

  5. I’m so PROUD of you! Well deserved my friend.

    Comment by Tanya Stanley | March 31, 2015

  6. Great write-up. I am impressed.

    Comment by Johnnie Cunningham | March 31, 2015

  7. Hi Ms. Sharon,
    Congrats to you. You truly deserve those awards. I’ve always said that you are an awesome writer, and you know how much I love the Blue Roses series. Truth or Consequences was an awesome read. Now, don’t get me wrong, The Jenkins Family is great too, it’s just that I am stuck on the Blue Roses series because this was my first read of yours. Again congrats to you, you’re awesome………

    Comment by stephaniebartley1 | April 2, 2015

    • Aw, thanks so much Stephanie! I’m glad you’re enjoying my work. I appreciate your continued support!

      Comment by sharonccooper | April 2, 2015

  8. Reblogged this on The Page a Day Writers Group and commented:
    Our very own Page a Day Writer, Sharon Cooper, recently received two more awards for her excellent romance novels. Go Sharon!

    Comment by twtrifles | April 10, 2015


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

