Sharon C. Cooper

Just thinking…

Walking in Peace

Those who have followed my blog for a few years know that every now and then I share random thoughts. Today is one of those days.

I still start my day with morning devotion, and a cup of tea, coffee or sometimes just water, meditating on how blessed I am and what I want to accomplish that day. At any rate, today I was reading from a devotional and the subject was – Your Purpose Will Be Accompanied by Peace. It basically discussed how many of us walk through life asking questions like: What am I supposed to do with my life? What’s my purpose? What does God want me to do?

keep calm

Occasionally I’ll ask myself questions like these, hoping I’m on the right track, but not knowing for sure. According to the devotion in The Word for You Today, God leads us through our life’s purpose through our gifts that we perform easily (whether with formal training or not). Do what you do well and watch God confirm it by blessing your endeavors. It went on to say something like, don’t waste time trying to do what you’re not gifted to do. If what you’re doing is making you miserable and you go into it with anxiety, it might not be what you’re supposed to be doing. I thought that was so powerful.

The devotional referenced the Bible verse – Isaiah 55:12 (NIV)- “You will go out in joy, and be led forth with peace.” Observe the things that you do well and that you enjoy doing and watch God work through you. I think another part of the devotion that really resonated with me today was when it said something like, trust God’s ability in you and don’t be afraid to be unique, be you. “God has a specific place and a specific plan for each of us.” I had to quote that part to make sure I got it right because I think that’s so important for all of us to remember.

Another question was posed in the devotion: “How will you know you’re in the right place fulfilling His plan?”

The simple answer: You’ll have peace.

I know I want to live a peace-filled life, but what about you? Are you doing what you feel you were meant to be doing? Are you walking in your purpose? Are you walking in peace?

June 21, 2016 - Posted by | Just Thinking | , ,

4 Comments

  1. Dear Sharon,

    Thank you for your thoughts today, and I most heartily agree. I believe that Peace is the reward – not for immense achievements, supernatural feats, or stress and anxiety of trying to be what someone wants – but finding the simple and personal place where we each use who and what we are.

    Peace to you Sharon, dear friend, on this celebrated day of your birth.

    Karen

    Comment by Karen | June 21, 2016

    • Thank you so much for stopping by, Karen, and for sharing your wisdom!! Oh and thanks for the birthday shout out! 🙂

      Comment by sharonccooper | June 21, 2016

  2. Reblogged this on ClaireFlaire.

    Comment by Woman@Heart | June 21, 2016

  3. This was a great devotional. I haven’t quite figured out my purpose, but I continue to try to figure it out.

    Comment by jet68stl | June 22, 2016


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

